November 16, 2017

“Off the Vine: Wines to enhance your Thanksgiving dinner”
telegram.com
Al Vuona
Concannon: 2014, Petite Sirah, California. This voluptuous wine offers blackberry, blueberry and layers of spice, all leading up to a long, velvety finish. $26
Click here for complete article

November 08, 2017

“Pedroncelli Winery, Geyserville California, Celebrates 90 Year Anniversary”
Juicy Tales on Wine-Blog
Jo Diaz
Julie Pedroncelli... "family then became a member of PS I Love You, when I started the group. And Pedroncelli Winery has remained a loyal supporter, for the last 15 years. If you know about Petite Sirah as a variety, the Pedroncelli family is one of the founder members. They believe in community and education, so you can give them a thanks, Petite Sirah lovers (and you know who you are.) Pedroncelli wines are very well structured and wholesome, and created in a beautiful area of Dry Creek Valley."
Click here for complete article

November 06, 2017

“The Wine Check with 2015 Robert Biale Royal Punishers Rutherford, Napa Valley Petite Sirah”
Practical Travel Gear
Ramsey Qubein
When I was testing out this bag (which can also be checked on airplanes), I was also sampling the 2015 Robert Biale Royal Punishers Rutherford Napa Valley Petite Sirah. I was able to enjoy its full-bodied flavor with a variety of dishes at home, which also encouraged me to bring it along when I travel. There were flavors of plum and fig that lingered on my palette for quite awhile, and the black fruit taste paired exceptionally well with grilled meats and hearty pastas. According to the winemakers, this wine can be enjoyed immediately, but can also be cellar aged for as long as 2024 to achieve maximum intensity. In spite of dry conditions in Napa Valley during 2015, one will still find complex wines that will appeal to even the most experienced oenephiles. Both this wine and The Wine Check make great holiday gifts including for Thanksgiving guests. A 2015 bottle of Royal Punishers Rutherfood, Napa Valley Petite Sirah goes for for $45 retail, and The Wine Check can run about $70.
Click here for complete article

November 05, 2017

“Vinography Unboxed: Week of October 29, 2017”
Vinograhy
Author Yarrow
This week included a few more new releases from Ridge Vineyards... 2015 Ridge Vineyards "Lytton Estate" Petite Sirah, Dry Creek Valley, Sonoma, California Inky purple in the glass, this wine smells of struck match and cassis. In the mouth, mouthwatering and smoky flavors of blackberry, blueberry and cassis have a nice wet chalkboard mineral undertone to them, and surprisingly fine grained tannins, which gain strength by the minute and double by the sip. At a mere 13% alcohol, this wine is remarkably light on its feet. Delicious. Score: around 9.
Click here for complete article

November 01, 2017

“2017 California Petite Sirah Report”
Washington Wine Blog
Owen Bargreen
While somewhat unfairly playing second fiddle to other varietals, there are some seriously good Petite Sirah wines being made right now. Over the past few months I have compiled a list of recommended Petite Sirah bottlings and I am hugely impressed with the level of value that Petite Sirah offers on the retail market. One of the most outstanding value wines that I have tried this year, checking in well under ten dollars is the 2015 Bogle Petite Sirah (WWB, 89) which shows wonderful structure and richness. Another outstanding new release was the 2015 Michael David 'Petite Petit' Red Wine (WWB, 92) which is a deep and complex wine that is one of the best values you will find out of California. One of the standout Petite Sirah wines from this report, the 2013 Robert Biale 'E.B.A.' Petite Sirah (WWB, 94) has just an incredible sense of place and a wonderful combination of mouthfeel and tension... Recommended Petites: 2015 Bogle ~ 2014 Barra [of Mendocino] 2014 ~ Harney Lane ~ 2015 Michael David 'Petite Petit' ~ 015 Michael David 'Earthquake' ~ 2015 Robert Biale 'Royal Punishers' ~ 2013 Robert Biale 'E.B.A.' ~ 2014 Stags Leap Petite Sirah ~ 2006 Ridge 'Dynamite Hill' Petite Sirah
Click here for complete article

October 01, 2017

“Ask Dr. Vinny”
Wine Spectator
Dr. Vinny
FOUND ON 10-01-17 Dear Dr. Vinny' I like California Petite Sirahs, but there's no Wine Spectator vintage chart for that wine category. How do they age compared to Cabernets from the same area? -David Dear David, I'm also a fan of Petite Sirah and its bold, distinct personality. The best examples are brimming with blackberry and licorice flavors, with plenty of aromatic details and dense tannins. You're correct that we don't have vintage charts for every single category, but looking at our California Cabernet vintage chart is a really good idea for recommendations on Petite Sirah drinking windows. Like Cabernet, the best examples of Petite can age slowly, and by the 10-year mark make take on complex, mature notes, even while the fruit and tannins remain strong. I've had some really lovely older examples of Petite, and am glad to hear that you might be thinking of aging them. -Dr. Vinny
Click here for complete article

September 27, 2017

“Great wine values | Part I”
Tahoe Weekly
Lou Phillips
When it comes to wine, as in all things, everybody loves a great value. Even my friends with multi-thousand bottle cellars full of trophy bottles can't hide their excitement when they turn me on to their latest delicious less-than-$20 discovery...[A] winery that delivers is Michael David. The Phillips brothers come from a farming family with roots in Lodi going back to the 1800s. When they decided to make wine, they stayed right at home. These guys specialize in bold, not-for-the-faint-of-heart reds with entertaining names like...'Petite Petit,' an absolute rocking blend of Petite Sirah and Petit Verdot. These wines are made for big and bold foods or for keeping you warm on a cool night.
Click here for complete article

September 26, 2017

“Taste of Wine: Top 10 wines tasted in the third quarter of this year”
The Coast News Group
Frank Mangio
10) Vina Robles Estate Petite Sirah, Paso Robles, 2014, $29. Luscious black color displays an intense, juicy dark fruit complexion and a supple finish. Aged for 20 months in oak barrels. Smaller, more intense grape, held longer in the harvest for greater raisin-like concentration. Visit Vinarobles.com.
Click here for complete article

September 26, 2017

“Berger on wine: The charms of petite sirah ”
Press Democrat | Vintage Experiences
Dan Berger
Bogle Vineyards of Clarksburg was one of the first wineries to identify that it could be made with a lot less tannin. Its version to this day is a joyful accompaniment to many red meat dishes. Bogle began to produce large amounts of petite sirah and to sell it for a fair price, ultimately gaining international success with it. (Two years ago in Sydney, Australia, I saw a bottle of it listed on a restaurant wine list for $64 Australian dollars.) WINE OF THE WEEK: 2013 Parducci Petite Sirah, Mendocino County, Small Lot ($14): This remarkably good value is not as complex in a fruit sense as many of the other wines that we tasted, and it has slightly more aging than it needs, but the flavors are sensational, the acid balance is terrific and the price is extremely friendly. It was one of the 11 wines to receive a double gold-medal.
Click here for complete article

September 26, 2017

“Berger on wine: The charms of petite sirah”
The Press Democrat
Dan Berger
Of all the red wine grapes in California, perhaps the most extensively produced and yet misunderstood is petite sirah.
Click here for complete article

September 20, 2017

“Wine picks (Scroll down the page.)”
Capital Gazette
Tom Marquardt and Patrick Darr
Rock Wall Wine Company Le Mur d Roche Petite Sirah 2012 ($60). Kent Rosenblum sold his winery in 2008, but then bankrolled Rock Wall for his winemaking daughter, Shauna. This single-vineyard petite sirah has a lot of power and density. You could cut this with a knife and lay it on toast in the morning. Inky, it has lush blackberry liqueur flavors with a dose of tea, vanilla and citrus. Delicious now but begging for age.
Click here for complete article

September 15, 2017

“Bogle Vineyards keep it all in the family”
The Royal Gazette
Michael Robinson
In the 1960s, petite sirah was the very first varietal that the family planted and it is probably fair to say that it used to be one of the leading varietals in California. A French man, Dr Francois Durif, managed to cross syrah with peloursin (I've never heard of it either) and out popped petite sirah. Bogle 2014 Petite Sirah takes a quantum leap from delicate pinot noir to dark purple, glass-staining intensity along with inky, succulent blueberries and blackberries as well as roasted, savoury earthy tones. If that is not enough, let us add some dark chocolate. Rich cheese or a steak on the grill - that is something that I could really enjoy. This is not a wimpy wine and I confess to be a fan, for sure.
Click here for complete article

September 08, 2017

“Keeping the Faith: The happy and relaxed wisdom of jazz guitarist Eddie Duran ”
Sonoma West Times & News
Bob Jones
It's the Jazz and Blues Festival on Johnson's Beach in Guerneville this weekend, so it's fitting to feature one of the greats who played there over the years. Many in these parts remember Eddie Duran as a premier jazz guitarist in San Francisco from the 1950s on. His birthday is September 6; he just turned 92. "Mad" watches over Eddie with ongoing care. "You don't drink enough water, Eddie, she said to him as the table was being cleared. "Here, have some water." To which Eddie replied, "I never drink water so long as there is wine." Smiling his fetching smile, he raised his glass and took another sip of petite sirah.
Click here for complete article

August 30, 2017

“2014 Merisi Wines Diener Ranch Petite Sirah”
Nittany Epicurean
Michael Chelus
Merisi Wines is named after the famed Italian Renaissance painter, Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio typically known just as "Caravaggio". This wine is 100% petite sirah from Diener Ranch in Lake County. Following a natural fermentation, the wine was aged for 21 months in 50% new oak barrels. It comes in at 15.3% ABV. The wine showed a dark ruby almost opaque color. Blackberry, raspberry, vanilla, plum, licorice and oak each arrived on the nose. Blackberry, black cherry, mocha, raspberry, vanilla, plum and oak followed on a complex palate driven by ripe berry fruit. The wine exhibited great structure and length, along with well-integrated tannins. This wine would pair well with a roast herb-crusted beef tenderloin.
Click here for complete article

August 14, 2017

“Wine Facts Petite Sirah: A Monster of a Grape”
San Francisco Chronicle
Ester Mobley
(No date attributed to this story. found on 08-14-17) Petite Sirah is not petite in any way: It's a thick, tarry monster of a grape, midnight-black in hue, intensely tannic. Petite Sirah is also, it must be noted, not Syrah, though the two grapes are now believed to be genetically related. Like Zinfandel, Petite Sirah has a particularly long and colorful history in California. The grape first arrived on these shores in 1884, thanks to Charles McIver of Linda Vista Vineyard at Mission San Jose. McIver was importing Durif, a brand new grape variety that a viticulturist in southern France had just bred (and named after himself), and erroneously called it Petite Sirah.
Click here for complete article

August 14, 2017

“2014 Rock Wall Wine Company Jack's Petite Sirah Dry Creek ”
Nittany Epicurean
Michael Chelus
PSILY ARRANGED: The wine showed a dark ruby almost opaque color. Blackberry, cassis, raspberry preserves, prune, vanilla, cherry and oak each arrived on a nose redolent with dark berry fruit. Blackberry, cassis, mocha, prune, raspberry, licorice and oak followed on the palate. The wine exhibited great structure and length, along with moderate tannins. This wine would pair perfectly with rich and tender smoked beef ribs.
Click here for complete article

August 14, 2017

“The Guide to Petite Sirah (No date attribution. found on 08-14-17)”
Wine Folly
Madelyn Puckette and Justin Hammack
Petite Sirah ("Peh-teet sear-ah") (aka Durif or Petite Syrah) was first found growing in France in the mid-1800's. It's loved for its extraordinary deep color and full-bodied flavors of blueberry, chocolate, plums and black pepper. Despite its popularity, Petite Sirah is an exceptionally rare grape with less than 10,000 planted acres worldwide, growing mainly in California.
Click here for complete article

August 14, 2017

“Are Syrah and Petite Sirah the Same Thing?”
Goodness Celebrated
Our team may be running this site, but it's not ours. It's yours. (Found on 08-14-2017, not date attribution)
Just the other day, I was wandering up and down the Syrah aisle of my local wine and spirits shop when the helpful clerk asked if I needed any help. I told him I was looking to try a new Syrah. He jumped to my aid, offering a variety of different choices. After a few minutes, he had narrowed it down to two bottles. One was a classic Syrah from Napa Valley. The other, a Petite Sirah. He was clearly convinced they were the same varietal. And who could blame him? They sound similar. So aren't they essentially the same? In fact, Syrah and Petite Sirah are two different grapes. Let's unravel the confusion surrounding these two varietals.
Click here for complete article

August 14, 2017

“15 California Wines Gone Rhone-Style ~ New reviews of Syrah, Petite Sirah, Viognier and Grenache Blanc from the Golden State”
Wine Spectator - Need subscription for the link to work
Augustus Weed
Petite Sirah, which is a cross between Syrah and the little-known grape Peloursin, makes dark, bold wines with plenty of tannins. It adds heft to blends or shines on its own as evidenced by the duo from Robert Biale. ~ ROBERT BIALE Petite Sirah Napa Valley Royal Punishers 2015 Score: 91 ~ ROBERT BIALE Basic Black Sonoma County 2014 Score: 90
Click here for complete article

August 02, 2017

“PS (Petite Sirah) I LOVE YOU”
FoodWineTravelChix.com
Linda Milks
If you are looking for a beverage full of antioxidants, Petite Sirah is your wine because it is one of the deepest red wines with lots of antioxidants. Petite Sirah needs to be decanted and can take up to 2-4 hours to evolve. It is best served at 65 degrees to get more of the floral and mineral aromas and bold fruit flavor. [Wines Recommended] Rock Wall 2012 Le Mur De Roche from Carver Sutro Vineyard in Napa Valley. Bogle 2015 Petite Sirah with grapes from Clarksburg and Lodi, Parducci Reserve 2014 Petite Sirah from Mendocino, Merisi Wines 2014 Diener Vineyard Petite Sirah from Lake County
Click here for complete article

July 26, 2017

“Blueberry Bourbon Rosemary Smoked Ribs + Merisi Petite Sirah as the pairing wine”
Vindulge.com
Mary Cressler
Alright, so this wine is big, but it has so many things going for it besides it's weight. It's complex for starters, with gorgeous and lush boysenberry and blueberry (yes, blueberry!) notes to compliment the berry fruit from the sauce. There's also some interesting chocolate and mocha flavors to add some depth, and savory herbs that mingle and match with the sauce. It was really quite a beautiful pairing, and a beautiful wine. A good example of how rich and rich can not only cooperate together, but elevate each other.
Click here for complete article

July 25, 2017

“The Joys of Petite Sirah”
Sean Ludford's BevX.com
Sean Ludford
Petite Sirah/Durif was introduced into California by Charles McIver for use at his Linda Vista Vineyard in Alameda County. The grape soon found a growing following of wine growers. When phylloxera destroyed most all Syrah vines in California in the 1890s Petite Sirah really took off. Among the fans of Petite Sirah are a proud and loyal group of fans who have created a website to their favorite grape - PSILoveYou (Petite Sirah I Love You). I'm not kidding - check it out.
Click here for complete article

July 21, 2017

“2014 Parducci True Grit Reserve Petite Sirah”
Nitanny Epicurean
Michael Chellus
The wine showed a dark will be almost opaque color. Blackberry, black cherry, cassis, vanilla, cola, mocha, oak and vanilla all arrived on the complex nose. Blackberry, cassis, vanilla, raspberry, white pepper, cherry cola, mocha and oak followed on a palate laden with dark berry fruit. The wine exhibited good structure and length, along with well-integrated tannins. This wine would be a classic pair to a roast leg of lamb.
Click here for complete article

July 20, 2017

“Oh Petite Sirah, So Misunderstood, So Lovely”
RobinDohrn-Simpson.com
Robin Dohrn-Simpson
If there is one thing to know about pairing Petite Sirah with food, it is that the wine deserves a food as big and as bold as it is. The Wine Review Council gathered to taste some California Petite Sirahs which were graciously donated by PS I Love you.org, a marketing advocacy group for the grape. While we tasted a few wines, I'll just talk about the top four wines that we enjoyed. (Bogle, Rock Wall, Merisi, Parducci)
Click here for complete article

June 21, 2017

“Wine, etc.: Petite Sirah”
Capital Gazette
Tom Marquardt and Patrick Darr
MEMBERS: Michael David, Rock Wall, Merisi, and Tenbrink Vineyards all mentioned with great reviews.
Click here for complete article

June 02, 2017

“Behind the Wine in Lodi CA: In the Mood with Michael David Petite Sirah”
Wine Predator
Gwendolyn Lawrence Alley
Hello Lodi - again! and no I don't feel stuck at all - instead I feel grateful! Last summer when I was here in Lodi for the Wine Bloggers Conference, I was suffering a great deal of pain in my heels. Turns out, I had STRESS FRACTURES in both feet following an intense Sierra backpack trip! As you can imagine, I didn't get out and around as much as I'd like. MEMBERS MENTIONED: Michael David Winery - Earthquake - Petite Sirah - 2014 + Michael David Winery - Petite Petit - 2015
Click here for complete article

May 17, 2017

“Pedroncelli Winery and Vineyards: A 90 Year Legacy of Family and Wine”
Grape Experiences
Cindy Rynning
What began as a live twitter chat about the wines of Pedroncelli Winery and Vineyards, quickly became an opportunity to meet Julie Pedroncelli St. John in Chicago soon thereafter. Naturally, wine tastings and food pairings were involved in both instances, as well as camaraderie and storytelling. Sharing dinner with Julie was like meeting a long-lost friendwho just happens to be a 3rd generation member of a family that produces outstanding wine. Along with her management and marketing position at Pedroncelli, she writes entertaining and intriguing posts about the familys history and happenings in the vineyard on the website.
Click here for complete article

April 17, 2017

“Ageworthy, Bold, Captivating and Delicious - Petite Sirah! ”
Ellen on Wine
Ellen Landis
I recently attended the 5th Annual Napa Valley Petite Sirah Breakfast at Robert Biale Vineyards. Talk about a wakeup call! A delicious spread of savory quiche, breakfast potatoes, fresh baked biscuits and multiple selections of the finest bacon around was paired with this bold, intense wine. Good Morning indeed! MEMBERS: Robert Biale Vineyards, Tres Sabores Winery, and Stanton Vineyards.
Click here for complete article

April 10, 2017

“Enobytes Petite Sirah”
Enobytes
Pamela Heiligenthal
We've been huge supporters of Petite Sirah over the years! MEMBER WINES ~~~ Vina Robles, Robert Biale, Hess Collection, Artezin, Harney Lane, 39 Degrees
Click here for complete article

April 07, 2017

“Ageworthy, Bold, Captivating and Delicious - Petite Sirah! ”
Ellen on Wine
Ellen Landis
Petite Sirah, also known as Durif, originated in France. It is a cross of Syrah and the lesser known French variety, Peloursin. I've been a devotee of Petite Sirah for several years, and in my opinion, it is one of the most ageworthy varieties. I recall tasting a 1967 Foppiano Vineyards (Sonoma County) Petite Sirah in the late 90's, and it was showing incredibly well. Yes, that's right - at 30 years of age! ~~~ MEMBER WINES: Robert Biale Vineyards, Tres Sabores, Stanton Vineyards
Click here for complete article

March 22, 2017

“If you must have a California wine, make it petite sirah ”
Pacific Northwest Magazine
Andy Perdue
FOR ME, THE quintessential California wine is petite sirah, a big, robust, in-your-face red whose history in the Golden State goes back to the 1880s. Truth be told, petite sirah is about the only California wine to take up much space in my cellar. Petite sirah is a heritage variety in California that enjoys fame across the state, as great petite sirah is grown from the Alexander Valley in the north to the warm Central Coast in the south. MEMBERS SAMPLES ~~~ Miro Cellars, Michael-David, Robert Biale
Click here for complete article

March 08, 2017

“A Brawny Wednesday Night Wine On The Rise: Petite Sirah From California”
Forbes
Cathy Huyghe
A Petite Sirah "fan club," PS I Love You, was founded in 2002 with the stated mission "to promote, educate, and legitimize Petite Sirah as a heritage variety, with a special emphasis on its terroir uniqueness." A lengthy 3 page story giving compliments to 5 of the PS I Love You Members. MEMBER SAMPLES ~~~ Tres Sabores, Vina Robles, Barra of Mendocino, Pedroncelli, and Robert Biale Vineyards
Click here for complete article

February 21, 2017

“ Berger: Petite sirah stands test of time ”
Santa Rosa Press Democrat
Dan Berger
PS I Love You is the Sonoma County mutual admiration society established years ago to support Petite Sirah, and over the years it has promoted many public events around this often-overlooked grape... The best wine in the flight wound up being declared the best red wine in the show. That wine was 2014 Miro PS from the Dry Creek Valley, a reserve bottling ($34) that displays astounding loganberry-like fruit with terrific acidity for aging... The nice thing about petite sirah is that it seems to retain its fruit nicely even after a decade in the bottle. One of the leaders with this variety over the years has been Foppiano Winery, and we still have a few of their PS bottles that are 20-plus years old and still fine.
Click here for complete article

January 28, 2017

“'Old Vines' shine through ”
The Emporia Gazette
Regina Murphy
Patty and Chris Bogle built Bogle Vineyards from 18 acres of petite sirah and chenin blanc grapes in the Sacramento delta into a regional wine powerhouse. The couple established their winery in 1979. The Bogles started with 4,000 cases annually; they now ship more than 1.2 million cases from facilities throughout Northern California.
Click here for complete article

January 19, 2017

“Narrowing hundreds of wines to top 50”
Lowell Sun
The Lowell Sun
Number 1 of 50 is PSILY member Michael David winery, with their Popular Petite Petit: 1. Michael David Petite Petit 2014, Lodi, $15 -- Big bang for the buck in this jammy Petite Sirah fruit bomb.
Click here for complete article

September 13, 2016

“Wine, etc.: Taste these final summer wines before fall begins”
Capital Gazette
Tom Marquardt and Patrick Darr
True Grit Reserve Red 2013 ($20). This Mendocino blend is a motley collection of carignane, zinfandel, grenache, syrah, petite sirah, souzao, tinto cao and touriga nacional. With variety like this, it's hard to define. But we loved it nonetheless. Lots of ripe plum and dark fruit flavors with a hint of spice.
Click here for complete article

November 30, -0001

“If you must have a California wine, make it petite sirah ”
Seattle Times
Andy Perdue
Three to try ~ Here are three California petite sirahs that are a little more restrained: Miro 2014 Reserve Coyote Ridge Vineyard petite sirah, Dry Creek Valley, $34: Alluring aromas of plum, blackberry tea and dark chocolate give way to flavors of cocoa and juicy dark fruit backed by gentle tannins. This is a time capsule of harvest, reflecting the way those juicy berries must have tasted on the crush pad. ~ Robert Biale Vineyards 2014 Palisades Vineyard petite sirah, Calistoga, $55: Dusty aromas of cocoa powder, raspberry and Bing cherry lead to flavors of penetrating black fruit. Its backed by softer, more elegant, approachable tannins and zippy acidity. ~ Michael David Winery 2014 Earthquake petite sirah, Lodi, $26: From a vineyard planted around the same time as the 1906 earthquake that all but leveled San Francisco, this is a classic California petite with aromas of huckleberry, anise, Earl Grey tea and graham cracker, followed by bold flavors of boysenberry; deep dark fruit; and full-throttle, intense, hair-on-your-chest tannins. A glorious wine.
Click here for complete article