November 18, 2011

“My New Favorite Grape!”
Happy Hour Mary
Mary Maynard
Then later this week while at lunch, they happened to feature a Petite Sirah.
Click here for complete article

August 25, 2011

“NOTHING PETITE ABOUT PETITE SIRAH”
gabbygourmet.com
Rich Mauro
The roots of the petite sirah vine can be traced back to the south of France in the 1880s
Click here for complete article

August 25, 2011

“NOTHING PETITE ABOUT PETITE SIRAH”
PeoplesPalate.com
Rich Mauro
...a promotional organization... which was founded in 2002 with 39 charter members, has more than doubled to 81 winery members in 2011.
Click here for complete article

August 25, 2011

“A wine for every elevation; the scenery and the weather: toast your visit to a national wonder with a wine that matches”
findarticles.com
Sara Schneider
Pair Grand Canyon with Petite Sirah

August 17, 2011

“Highlights From the 9th Annual PS I Love You Symposium, July 26, 2011”
myvinespace.com
Laura Ness
As Petite Sirah turns 50 years old, an increasingly young throng of winemakers and growers who produce the grape gathered for the 9th annual PS I Love You symposium organized by Jo and Jose Diaz and held once again at Concannon Vineyard in Livermore.

August 16, 2011

“On Wine: Petite Sirah love”
www.mercurynews.com
Laurie Daniel
Fifty years ago, in the 1961 vintage, Concannon Vineyards in the Livermore Valley produced the nation's first varietally labeled petite sirah. Until then, the grape had been used in California to beef up red blends; at Concannon, it was used in the winery's generic "burgundy" blend.
Click here for complete article

August 04, 2011

“The vineyards are alive with the sound of music”
napavalleyregister.com
George Starke
Memories of terrific musical events: That would be the sixth annual 2011 Festival Del Sole. For nine days, Napa Valley was up to its gunnels in wonderful afternoons and evenings of music, dance, wines and food at winery venues from Calistoga to the Carneros (including the Lincoln Theater in Yountville).
Click here for complete article

August 02, 2011

“Dan Berger: Petite sirah is not so petite”
pressdemocrat.com
Dan Berger
A friend had a birthday party recently and among the wines he hauled out of his below-ground cellar was a bottle of 1970 petite sirah made by winemaker David Bruce.

The wine label said "petit syrah," thereby losing two for two in the spelling department.
Click here for complete article

August 02, 2011

“Petite Sirah. What's in a Name?”
winerogue.wordpress.com
Kris Barber
When I was in junior high I joined the gymnastics team. To this day I don't know what the appeal was. I don't follow the sport, I wasn't raised by former gymnasts, and I don't particularly like wearing tights in front of people.
Click here for complete article

July 31, 2011

“Happy 80th Birthday to Jim Concannon”
wilfrednotebook.blogspot.com
Wilfred Wong
After spending hours on the keyboard, with intricate spreadsheets, short spoofs, and annoying emails, I drove an hour from the BevMo! Service Center (a.k.a. Corporate Headquarters) in Concord, to the cool and now sophisticated town of Livermore. Not a long drive, but one that brought me back to a place that I haven't visited in quite sometime.
Click here for complete article

July 30, 2011

“PS I Love You Petite Sirah Tasting July 2011”
vicivino.com
Larry
Lori and I recently attended the Petite Sirah tasting sponsored by the PS I Love You Petite Sirah industry/advocacy group. It was held last week at Concannon Vineyard in Livermore. The last PS I Love Event I attended was their Dark & Delicious 2010 event, which was a great introduction to the varietal.

July 30, 2011

“PS I Love You: Let me count the ways!”
winepredator.wordpress.com
Gwendolyn Alley
It is unfortunate but true that people are typically unfamiliar with the marvels of Petite Sirah. Hence the need for a Petite Sirah advocacy group like PS I Love You and for events like Dark & Delicious.
Click here for complete article

July 29, 2011

“2011 Special Petite Sirah on the Rails”
ncry.org
Join us on Saturday, July 30 aboard a restored vintage train departing from the Niles district of Fremont at 3:30 PM, and sample five special Petite Sirahs from some of the best winemakers in the Valley including Concannon, Nottingham Cellars, McGrail Vineyards, Charles R Vineyards and Bent Creek Winery

July 29, 2011

“Industry Gathers to Honor Jim Concannon on the 50th Anniversary of America's First Petite Sirah.”
sacbee.com
Concannon Vineyard
Over a hundred industry leaders, friends and family gathered together to raise a glass to 50 years of Petite Sirah and honor Jim Concannon, the man responsible for bottling the country's first Petite Sirah. Known as the "Father of America's First Petite Sirah", the event was especially momentous as it also served as a birthday celebration for Mr. Concannon, who turned 80 years old last night.

July 29, 2011

“Petite Sirahs From The PS I Love You Symposium Tasting: Part 1 Wineries A-C”
winepredator.wordpress.com
Gwendolyn Alley
I usually avoid writing the kind of blog post that just lists a bunch of wines.

I like to tell stories.

And I think story telling is my strength.

But sometimes it is necessary to just resort to a few keys words to convey a story about wine when you're trying to talk about many wines.
Click here for complete article

July 28, 2011

“Celebrating Two Important Anniversaries for Petite Sirah”
norcalwine.com
Fred Swan
On July 25, I joined in Jim Concannon's 80th birthday celebration at Concannon Vineyards in Livermore. More than 100 people were in attendance. Among those present were old friends of Mr. Concannon from the wine industry, his family, long-time Concannon employees and media. Dan Berger, long one of California's best wine journalists and an ardent supporter of Petite Sirah, served as emcee.
Click here for complete article

July 27, 2011

“Jim Concannon & Livermore Petite Sirah Celebrate 80 Years”
www.winebusiness.com
Laura Ness
Jim Concannon surveyed the throng of well over a hundred guests who had gathered on the vast green lawn on the Concannon estate in Livermore to help him celebrate his 80th birthday on Monday evening, July 25th. "When my son John suggested we have a party, I said, 'How many people will come, around 10?'" said Jim. "We can have it at our house." "Oh, no," wife Helen interjected. "I've had enough of 'small gatherings!' that turn into something else!"
Click here for complete article

July 27, 2011

“Stark Insider TV: Celebrating 50 years of Petite Sirah with Jim Concannon”
www.starkinsider.com
Clinton Stark
Then, John Concannon unveiled a new wine - "Crimson and Clover" - in honor of his Dad, and their Irish heritage. "Unfortunately, Dad, Tommy James and the Shondells could not be here tonight, to sing it over and over..." he joked.
Click here for complete article

July 27, 2011

“The Petite Sirah Symposium”
www.steveheimoff.com
Steve Heimoff
Woke up early yesterday morning to the usual gloomy fog that has plagued us all summer, but Michael Jackson's Black or White was playing in my head (with that gorgeous jangly guitar riff) so it was all good. We headed east on the 580, the MacArthur, named for the General who wanted to nuke Red China and was summarily fired by Truman.
Click here for complete article

July 27, 2011

“I'm Concannon: Father of Petite Sirah”
livermore.patch.com
Monique Soltani
It might be best known as the little grape that could. Jim Concannon, however, made Petite Sirah the little grape that would and did.
Click here for complete article

July 27, 2011

“PS I Love You Highlights, July 2011”
www.winebusiness.com
Laura Ness
As Petite Sirah turns 50 years old, an increasingly young throng of winemakers and growers who produce the grape gathered for the 9th annual PS I Love You symposium organized by Jo and Jose Diaz and held once again at Concannon Vineyard in Livermore.
Click here for complete article

July 26, 2011

“Industry Gathers to Honor Jim Concannon on the 50th Anniversary of America's First Petite Sirah”
www.prnewswire.com
Over a hundred industry leaders, friends and family gathered together to raise a glass to 50 years of Petite Sirah and honor Jim Concannon, the man responsible for bottling the country's first Petite Sirah. Known as the "Father of America's First Petite Sirah"
Click here for complete article

July 26, 2011

“Industry Gathers to Honor Jim Concannon on the 50th Anniversary of America's First Petite Sirah”
bizjournals.com
PR Newswire
LIVERMORE, Calif., July 26, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- Over a hundred industry leaders, friends and family gathered together to raise a glass to 50 years of Petite Sirah and honor Jim Concannon, the man responsible for bottling the country's first Petite Sirah. Known as the 'Father of America's First Petite Sirah', the event was especially momentous as it also served as a birthday celebration for Mr. Concannon, who turned 80 years old last night.
Click here for complete article

July 26, 2011

“Industry Gathers to Honor Jim Concannon on the 50th Anniversary of America's First Petite Sirah”
centredaily.com
Concannon Vineyard
LIVERMORE, Calif., July 26, 2011 - /PRNewswire/ -- Over a hundred industry leaders, friends and family gathered together to raise a glass to 50 years of Petite Sirah and honor Jim Concannon, the man responsible for bottling the country's first Petite Sirah. Known as the 'Father of America's First Petite Sirah', the event was especially momentous as it also served as a birthday celebration for Mr. Concannon, who turned 80 years old last night.

July 26, 2011

“Industry Gathers to Honor Jim Concannon on the 50th Anniversary of America's First Petite Sirah”
digitaljournal.com
PR Newswire
Over a hundred industry leaders, friends and family gathered together to raise a glass to 50 years of Petite Sirah and honor Jim Concannon, the man responsible for bottling the country's first Petite Sirah. Known as the 'Father of America's First Petite Sirah', the event was especially momentous as it also served as a birthday celebration for Mr. Concannon, who turned 80 years old last night.
Click here for complete article

July 25, 2011

“THE WINE GUY: Petite sirah delivers big flavor for your money”
Gazette.com
Rich Mauro
If you are looking for full-flavored wines that provide a lot of wine for the money, consider petite sirah.
Click here for complete article

July 24, 2011

“Petite Sirah”
sondrabarrett.com
Sondra Barrett
I never really knew petite sirahs until I met Jo Diaz, Executive Director of PS I Love You and WOW! PS I do love you. Here are the latest series of images, wines I've drunk and enjoyed, of course.
Click here for complete article

July 23, 2011

“Laura Ness: All aboard for petite sirah celebration”
thecalifornian.com
Laura Ness
We're headed for a busy petite sirah-centric week to mark the official 50th birthday of petite sirah. Beginning Monday, the wine world celebrates the 80th birthday of internationally known and beloved Jim Concannon, the "Godfather" of petite sirah...
Click here for complete article

July 19, 2011

“For Lovers of Petite Sirah”
blog.vinesse.com
Robert Johnson
One week from today, growers, winemakers and, yes, lovers of Petite Sirah will gather at Concannon Vineyard in California's Livermore Valley for a full day of seminars and tastings devoted to the variety.
Click here for complete article

July 18, 2011

“P.S.: I Love You, and I'm Sorry”
blog.vinesse.com
Robert Johnson
I've long said that every wine has a story; some are just more interesting than others. I've also learned, after harrumph-ahem-noneofyourbusiness years in the journalism business, that some sources are more reliable than others. This comes to light perhaps once or twice each year when we have the errors of our ways pointed out by someone who is a bit more knowledgeable on a specific topic.
Click here for complete article

July 17, 2011

“Concannon Is Pulling Out All of the Stops For Petite Sirah's 50th Anniversary”
wine-blog.org
Jo Diaz
The night before the Symposium, on July 25, 2011, following PS I Love You's annual meeting (5:00 p.m.), the folks at Concannon are hosting a Reception and Tribute Dinner in Jim Concannon's honor at 6:00 p.m., for Jim being the adoptive American father of Petite Sirah.
Click here for complete article

July 16, 2011

“Petite Sirah”
qliweb.com
Steve Heimoff
There is only passing mention of Petite Sirah in Leon D. Adams' "The Wines of America", his 1973 classic book, but as briefly as Adams addressed the variety, he got it wrong, calling it "the true Petite Sirah or Shiraz grape." Petite Sirah is not Shiraz, or Syrah for that matter; but then, confusion about Petite Sirah had been endemic in California for decades.
Click here for complete article

July 12, 2011

“Open letter to Vinesse”
wine-blog.org
Jo Diaz
First of all, I'd rather have written this to you via Email, but you have no Email options on your site. I've written about that one recently. Those who aren't transparent about who they are leave no options, and I am forced to find a more creative way to get updated info to you.
Click here for complete article

June 26, 2011

“Tasting a Small Part of Budge Browns Legacy- Cleavage Creek 2007 Napa Valley Reserve Petite Sirah”
wineandgoodfood.com
Bella McDowell
Last week I received a very different bottle of Petite Sirah in the mail. The bottle arrived with a picture of a woman on the front and the wine was called Cleavage Creek. I figured there had to be an interesting story behind the wine so I went to Google to see what I could find. It turns out that Cleavage Creek was founded by a philanthropist named Budge Brown who lost his wife of 48 years to breast cancer in 2005.
Click here for complete article

June 24, 2011

“The Big Fall and Big Rise of One Fine Grape”
Fermentation The Daily Wine Blog
Tom Wark
My first serious encounter with the Petite Sirah grape variety and the varietal wine that it is made into came when I was working public and media relations for historic Russian River Valley producer Foppiano Vineyards back in 1990. To this day, that encounter remains among the most interesting of my career.

June 23, 2011

“Mike Tyson in a Wine Glass”
rickbacas.com
Rick Bacas
Just look at this video. It's like watching Discovery channel where the wolf hunts the rabbit in slow motion, and when the wolf catches the rabbit it punches the rabbit with a devastating upper cut. Watching Mike Tyson was a rare sight. Power, finesse and raw aggression all at the same time. Sometimes I feel like my palate is on the receiving end of a spring loaded brick in a boxing glove when I drink Petit Sirah.

May 31, 2011

“Ten Reasons To Like Petite Sirah - Honest!!”
cgcw.com
Charles Olken
Forty years ago, when California discovered that the path to glory for Cabernet Sauvignon lay in French oak barrels and elevated levels of tannin, Petite Sirah was writing its own chapter. It was pretending to be the true Syrah, and it had the astringency to prove it.
Click here for complete article

May 30, 2011

“Lava Cap 2007 Reserve Petite Sirah El Dorado”
wineandgoodfood.com
Bella McDowell
My husband and I are a good combination. He loves grilling and I love finding the wines that will compliment the food he is preparing. Tonight he is grilling a beautiful grass-fed filet so I decided to decant a bottle of Lava Cap 2007 Reserve Petite Sirah. Lava Cap is a family run winery in Placerville, CA and I am looking forward to trying their latest Petite Sirah release.
Click here for complete article

May 19, 2011

“A Few Notes from My Petite Sirah Tasting Journey”
wineandgoodfood.com
Bella McDowell
I have been able to taste 15 bottles of Petite Sirah in the last few weeks and have learned a lot about the wine from Durif. I want to summarize some of my thoughts and tasting experiences thus far (even though there will definitely be more PS reviews to come since I have several more bottles awaiting me).
Click here for complete article

May 19, 2011

“2008 Bogle Vineyards Petite Sirah”
www.reversewinesnob.com
Jon Thorsen
A pleasing and perfectly balanced Petite Sirah.

SRP of $11. Available widely for $9-$10. Sample received courtesy of Bogle Vineyards for review purposes.
Click here for complete article

May 18, 2011

“Wednesday Night Wine- Smoking Loon 2008 Petite Sirah”
wineandgoodfood.com
Bella McDowell
I am always in search of enjoyable wines for under $15 for your average weeknight drinking pleasure. Smoking Loon has a variety of wines that you can find at almost any major grocery store for under $10.
Click here for complete article

May 16, 2011

“Lodi Produces Another Solid Petite Sirah- Harney Lane 2008 Petite Sirah”
wineandgoodfood.com
Bella McDowell
After a snowy, cold weekend in South Lake Tahoe, I am excited to be back home where the weather is a little warmer. Tonight I am grilling some burgers and opening a bottle of 2008 Harney Lane Petite Sirah.
Click here for complete article

May 16, 2011

“2009 Line 39 Petite Sirah North Coast”
www.reversewinesnob.com
Jon Thorsen
Grill? Check. Good friends? Check. A big, juicy steak? Check. What's missing?

SRP is $10, but I've seen this one as low as $6-$7. Sample received courtesy Cecchetti Wine Company for review purposes.
Click here for complete article

May 12, 2011

“Guglielmo 2007 Petite Sirah”
wineandgoodfood.com
Bella McDowell
It's Top Chef Masters time again and you really can't enjoy an episode without a glass of wine or two. Tonight I am opening up a bottle of Guglielmo 2007 Petite Sirah. This will be the 13th bottle of Petite Sirah that I have indulged in the last 2 weeks
Click here for complete article

May 11, 2011

“Wednesday Night Wine- The Crusher 2009 Petite Sirah”
wineandgoodfood.com
Bella McDowell
It is another beautiful evening to grill out and it is inevitable that our meal is going to be a success. Grass-fed burgers from Whole Foods topped with Swiss cheese, grilled onions, bacon, and an organic fried egg... heaven on a bun.
Click here for complete article

May 10, 2011

“A California "Earthquake" You Don't Want to Miss- Michael David Winery 2008 Earthquake Petite Sirah”
wineandgoodfood.com
Bella McDowell
I usually write a small introduction as to what I am doing before/while I am tasting a wine. I must start this review off differently by saying Earthquake 2008 Petite Sirah is a darn good wine so please keep reading. You won't be disappointed...
Click here for complete article

May 09, 2011

“Rock Wall Wine Company 2009 Petite Sirah”
wineandgoodfood.com
Bella McDowell
Rock Wall Wine Company graciously sent me a bottle of their latest release of Petite Sirah as a sample for review and we decided to enjoy it and grill a couple of grass-fed sirloins.
Click here for complete article

May 06, 2011

“Vina Robles 2008 Petite Sirah”
wineandgoodfood.com
Bella McDowell
I received a bottle of Vina Robles 2008 Petite Sirah as a sample from the winery and something about the bottle made me want to open it... almost as if it signified that good wine was ahead. I hope I am right as I sit down after an abnormally stressful day of work to enjoy it.
Click here for complete article

May 05, 2011

“Foppiano Vineyards 2008 Petite Sirah”
wineandgoodfood.com
Bella McDowell
I have always liked Petite Sirah but after having the opportunity to take this tasting journey I am beginning to love it. Every time I open a bottle I am excited to see what new flavors and subtleties I am going to encounter. Today I am going to enjoy a bottle that Foppiano Vineyards kindly sent to me as a sample.
Click here for complete article

May 04, 2011

“Wednesday Night Wine- Bogle 2008 Petite Sirah”
wineandgoodfood.com
Bella McDowell
Continuing my journey through some of California's best Petite Sirahs, I was a bit skeptical when a bottle of Bogle Vineyard's 2008 Petite Sirah arrived. It has a suggested retail price of $11 and, after some searching, I found it readily available for $9-10 a bottle.
Click here for complete article

May 02, 2011

“2008 Pedroncelli Petite Sirah”
www.reversewinesnob.com
Jon
A nice pairing for chocolate bunnies! 96% Petite Sirah and 4% Zinfandel. Sample received courtesy Pedroncelli for review purposes. Suggested retail price of $15, but if you can find a retailer near you that carries it, you should be able to grab it for as low as $12.
Click here for complete article

May 02, 2011

“2007 Artezin Petite Sirah”
wineandgoodfood.com
Bella McDowell
After a beautiful day, it's time to grill some burgers and open a bottle of Artezin's 2007 Petite Sirah. Artezin has kindly sent me a bottle of their wine as a sample to review. Artezin is part of the Hess family of wines and this Petite Sirah comes from the Ukaih Valley near Lake Mendicino.
Click here for complete article

April 30, 2011

“A Great Weekend Wine- Estrella Creek 2004 Petite Sirah”
wineandgoodfood.com
Bella McDowell
It's Friday evening and it's been a really long week. The first thing on my mind is relaxing and having a nice glass of wine (along with catching up on this week's episode of Top Chef Masters). Estrella Creek Wines generously sent me a bottle of their 2004 Petite Sirah as a sample to review.
Click here for complete article

April 29, 2011

“Petite Sirah Research Takes Shape”
www.winesandvines.com
Jon Tourney
Davis, Calif. - A research vineyard block planted to compare characteristics of traditional California Petite Sirah clones is in its second growing season at the University of California, Davis.
Click here for complete article

April 29, 2011

“Victor Hugo 2007 Petite Sirah”
wineandgoodfood.com
Bella McDowell
Petite Sirahs are becoming part of my daily routine and I am definitely not complaining. Today I received a bottle of 2008 Petite Sirah from Victor Hugo Winery as a sample. Victor Hugo Winery is a small, family winery in Paso Robles.
Click here for complete article

April 28, 2011

“2008 Concannon Vineyard Conservancy Petite Sirah Livermore Valley”
www.reversewinesnob.com
Jon
There's nothing petite about this excellent wine. Received sample for review. Suggested retail price of $15 SRP, but should be available widely for around $10.
Click here for complete article

April 27, 2011

“A Wednesday Night Petite Sirah”
wineandgoodfood.com
Bella McDowell
Pedroncelli Winery is a family run winery in Geyserville founded in 1927. They graciously sent me a bottle of their 2008 Dry Creek Valley Family Vineyards Petite Sirah as a sample.
Click here for complete article

April 25, 2011

“The Rodney Dangerfield of Wine”
wineeconomist.com
Mike Veseth
Petite Sirah is the Rodney Dangerfield of wine. Like the famous comedian, this grape variety "can't get no respect." For a long time nobody really knew much about Petite Sirah (PS), except the fact that it produced "the biggest, toughest, brawniest red wines in California"
Click here for complete article

April 25, 2011

“McCay Cellars 2008 Petite Sirah”
wineandgoodfood.com
Bella McDowell
McCay Cellars generously sent me a bottle of their newly released 2008 Petite Sirah as a sample from the winery. McCay Cellars is a small family winery in Lodi, CA.
Click here for complete article

April 25, 2011

“The Rodney Dangerfield of Wine”
wineeconomist.com
Mike Veseth
Petite Sirah is the Rodney Dangerfield of wine. Like the famous comedian, this grape variety "can't get no respect."
Click here for complete article

April 24, 2011

“A Great Way to Start My Petite Sirah Tasting Journey”
wineandgoodfood.com
Bella McDowell
I graciously received a bottle of 2007 Field Stone Staten Family Reserve Petite Sirah as a sample from the winery. I have dabbled in Petite Sirah but I haven't really tried as many as I would like. Field Stone is a family-run winery in Healdsburg.
Click here for complete article

April 22, 2011

“A Very Brief Intro in Petite Sirah”
wineandgoodfood.com
Bella McDowell
Petite Sirah... a wine I have heard more and more about recently but have had only little experience with. I love wine but I am by no means a wine expert. I am going to be doing a pretty extensive tasting soon so I decided to get out there and explore a little more about the origin and history of Petite Sirah.
Click here for complete article

March 30, 2011

“Petite Sirah, An Overnight Eruption?”
girlwithaglass.com
Alana Gentry
Is Petite Sirah still the cult wine it's rumored to be or is it morphing into something else? It's an enigmatic grape, still fairly scarce (only 9,000 acres grown worldwide), and while Petite enthusiasts and winemakers are equally smitten, the general public hasn't caught on... yet.

March 24, 2011

“Pairing Petite Sirah”
girlwithaglass.com
Alana Gentry
My Petite Sirah checklist has evolved over years of tasting. As a newbie, I thought 1) they are all around 15% or more in alcohol; 2) when they are young they are too in-your-face (not in a good way); 3) I have to use my brain to pair them (unlike a Merlot)...

March 14, 2011

“Getting to Know Petite Sirah”
girlwithaglass.com
Alana Gentry
I've had a fondness for this inky, silky, complicated grape since 2001. If you are new to Petite Sirah, look for it in your local grocery or wine shop and try it out.

March 02, 2011

“Uncorked: Say 'petite sirah' and you've said a mouthful”
Chicago Tribune - chicagotribune.com
Bill St. John
There's very little "petite" about the red wine made with petite sirah grapes. Words such as "blackstrap" or "opaque" aren't too off the mark. The wine is not about finesse; it's about power...
Click here for complete article

March 02, 2011

“Nothing small about petite sirah”
thetimes-tribune.com
David Falchek
Petite Sirah may be the most deceptively named wine grape. It sounds French, but the wine is decidedly American. "Petite" makes you think it's slight and delicate - but the wine has a gargantuan flavor and finish...
Click here for complete article

March 01, 2011

“My Purple Tongue Days with PET”
Pinot File: princeofpinot.com
William "Rusty" Gaffney, M.D.
Petite Sirah is celebrating 50 years since Concannon Vineyard's James Concannon bottled the first varietally labeled Petite Sirah in California in 1961. This brought back memories of my early dalliances with Petite Sirah...
Click here for complete article

February 28, 2011

“Simple Hedonisms goes 'Dark and Delicious' (Petite Sirah tasting)”
simplehedonisms.com
Steven Washuta
Friday nights are good for at least one thing: drinking wine. Friday, February 18th was a great night for that in the Bay Area, as P.S. I Love You put on their annual Dark and Delicious event...
Click here for complete article

February 24, 2011

“Dark and Delicious: A Celebration of Petite Sirah”
sociallysuperlative.com
Ava Fedorov
Last Friday, the quiet outer reaches of the East Bay's quaintest town, Alameda, rolled up its carpets and tipped its glasses for Dark &Delicious, a celebration of Petite Sirah and all of its devoted admirers...
Click here for complete article

February 22, 2011

“Petite sirah offers depth, complexity”
thenewsstar.com
Patrick Gerl
When was the last time you sought out a bottle of petite sirah? This great grape varietal is very under appreciated throughout the Wonderful World of Wine...
Click here for complete article

February 21, 2011

“Doing the Right Thing”
steveheimoff.com
Steve Heimoff
When I put myself through grad school, I worked on the campus of my college, a state university in which most of the workers were unionized (SEIU). We were not forced to join the union and, in fact, I never did...
Click here for complete article

February 20, 2011

“Delicious Indeed”
cavemanwines.com
Michael Wangbickle
On Friday, February 18th, my wife and I attended the 5th annual Dark and Delicious Wine & Food event at Rock Wall Wine Company in Alameda, California. Hosted by the Petite Sirah advocacy group, P.S. I Love You...
Click here for complete article

February 18, 2011

“Petite Sirah Celebrates 50 Years As A Varietal”
winecast.net
Tim Elliot
I have been on this planet for a shade longer than a half century since my birthday this past November. But there is a wine variety that I think is underrated that has also just turned the big 5-0 as a varietal, Petite Sirah...
Click here for complete article

February 17, 2011

“PS I Love You Says It's Time to Get "Dark & Delicious"”
winepredator.wordpress.com
Gwendolyn Alley
Most people don't know Petit Sirah or if they do, they confuse it with syrah or shiraz. According to the advocacy group PS I Love You, Petite Sirah is the offspring of Syrah...
Click here for complete article

February 17, 2011

“The 'Little Grape that Could,' Petite Sirah, Celebrates 50 Years”
prnewswire.com
Concannon Vineyard
LIVERMORE, Calif. Feb. 17, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- Petite Sirah, known for its small berries and bold, concentrated flavor, burst onto the California wine scene in 1961 when Concannon Vineyard's Jim Concannon chose to bottle the first varietally labeled Petite Sirah.
Click here for complete article

February 09, 2011

“2011 Dark and Delicious Petite Sirah Tasting: February 18, Alameda, CA”
www.vinography.com
Alder Yarrow
I've referred to it in the past as "the beast." Possessing tannins that need to be tamed through intelligent winemaking, Petite Sirah can truly be a monster of a wine. One of the least-well-known red grape varieties that are commonly grown in California...
Click here for complete article

February 09, 2011

“Tasting Petite Sirah, California's Little Big Wine”
blogs.sfweekly.com
Alastair Bland
It was born in 1880, and four years later came to California. But for another 80, almost nobody knew it. Petite Sirah is one of California's historical vines and among the earliest varieties introduced to the state, but for decades it languished as an anonymous blending wine...

February 03, 2011

“Yes, Sirah”
newsreview.com
Alastair Bland
It's hardly little, and it's not syrah. Indeed, petite sirah is not only among the least understood of California's red-wine grapes, it also makes among the very hugest of wines
Click here for complete article

January 24, 2011

“Win a Pair of Tickets to the Dark & Delicious Petite Sirah Bash in Alameda!”
1winedude.com
Joe Roberts
I've got a pair of tickets to give away to the upcoming Dark & Delicious Petite Sirah event in Alameda, CA on February 18th - and they might just have YOUR name on em!
Click here for complete article

January 21, 2011

“Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in Federal Register: Petite Sirah and Durif to finally become synonyms”
wine-blog.org
Jo Diaz
The Alcohol & Tobacco Tax & Trade Bureau (TTB) published a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking on January 19, 2011 in the Federal Register, which proposes to add several new names to the regulatory list of grape variety names approved for use in designating American wines.
Click here for complete article

January 18, 2011

“The Golden Age of Petite Sirah ~ 1961 to 2011”
wine-blog.org
Jo Diaz
It was in early 2002 that I first learned about Petite Sirah… I had no clue what it was, where it came from, or even where it was going. Lou Foppiano introduced me to it, when I was hired to be Foppiano Vineyards’ publicist.
Click here for complete article

January 15, 2011

“Concannon winery rich in history”
TheCalifornian.com
Laura Ness
History is the most important lesson we humans refuse to learn. We make progress despite ourselves. It's painful to watch the small, lame steps that so many wineries take in their infancy...
Click here for complete article

January 03, 2011

“True Grit ~ Weighing In on A Publicist's Tie-In”
wine-blog.org
Jo Diaz
In 2005, as I was trying to better explain what Petite Sirah is, I thought that it would be a great idea to tie it to something we could all relate to, and to an all-American legend, in order to really drive the point home. So, I tied it to John Wayne...
Click here for complete article