December 21, 2012

“Petite Sirah: a consideration”
SteveHeimoff.com
Steve Heimoff
...Something, however, was gnawing away at the corners of my resistance, or obliviousness, to its charms, and that was the advocacy group, PS I Love You, which I admit in candid honesty lobbied me heavily. I can't say exactly when the switchover occurred, but certainly by 2005 it occurred to me how original and special Petite Sirah from California could be, under the right circumstances.
Click here for complete article

December 06, 2012

“Petite Sirah - An American Vagabond”
CorkQuiz.com
Brian Gurnham
Born in the vineyards of Southern France, Petite Sirah has long been a bit of a vagabond, aimlessly searching for a permanent place to call home and a proper name to call itself. It was first discovered by Dr. Francois Durif, a botanist at the University of Montpelier, in the late 1870s, who (not-so-humbly) named the variety after himself (outside of North and South American Petit Sirah is known as Durif).
Click here for complete article

October 26, 2012

“Take a petite lesson in sirah and verdot”
Seattle Times
Paul Gregutt
A California-based organization named PS I Love You (www.psiloveyou.org)does a fine job of promoting petite sirah. Check out the website's excellent timeline for a historical overview of the grape's rise to fame. Die-hard fans love it for its blustery, bold, tannic, occasionally rustic flavors.
Click here for complete article

October 20, 2012

“Vina Robles Sets The Right Price Point For California Class-Act Petite Sirah”
The Walman Report
Jay and Nancy Walman
Search on Petite Sirah to see all of the Walman's reviews. The latest review is for Vina Robles.
Click here for complete article

October 15, 2012

“2 Petite Sirahs For Under $20 That Will Please the Pocket and the Tongue”
The Walman Report
Jay and Nancy Walman
Search on Petite Sirah on this site to find the Pedroncelli and The Crusher reviews
Click here for complete article

September 19, 2012

“Gearing Up for Fall with Petite Sirah”
Terroirist: A Daily Wine Blog
Winn Roberton
Today marks the tenth anniversary of PS I Love You, an advocacy group for Petite Sirah created by Christine Wells-Groff (Foppiano Vineyards), Dan Berger (Dan Berger’s Vintage Experiences), and Jo Diaz (Diaz Communications).
Click here for complete article

September 19, 2012

“10 years old, and *The Petite Engine That Could* is still chugging along ~ spreadin' the love for Petite Sirah”
Wine-blog
Jo Diaz
September 19, 2012 is PS I Love You’s 10th anniversary. On this date in 2002, Kent Rosenblum – then of Rosenblum Cellars, now of Rock Wall Wine Company sent a check that helped to begin a Website. This contribution also helped to launch an advocacy group, and give us the definitive starting date of September 19, 2002.

Meanwhile, Christine Wells, then of Foppiano Vineyards, had purchased the Web hosting. Jose Diaz, of Diaz Communications, built the Website, and we were on our way.
Click here for complete article

August 30, 2012

“Petite Sirah: Stealth Grape Approaching Its Moment?”
Huffington Post
Richard Jennings
I'm convinced there are great opportunities ahead for this grape, especially if the 2010 vintage turns out to be as pleasurable as the few examples I've had so far would suggest. John Concannon aptly summed up Petite as a "St. Bernard that wants to sit in your lap." It's that big and friendly.
Click here for complete article

August 28, 2012

“Petite Sirah: Stealth Grape Approaching Its Moment?”
RJ on Wine
Richard Jennings
Petite Sirah has been in California since the 1880s, but its role until relatively recently was in Zinfandel and mixed black blends. The first varietal Petite Sirah bottling didn't appear until the mid-1960s. The acreage devoted to the grape in California has gradually climbed over the past dozen years so that it's now the state's seventh most planted red wine grape, with 8,335 acres of vines as of 2011. Over 800 producers are making Petite these days, a dramatic increase since 2000 when there were only about 60.
Click here for complete article

August 09, 2012

“Melting Pot Cooking: While Carly Rae Jepsen sings "Call Me Maybe," Petite Sirah sings Pitbull's "Give Me Everything Tonight"”
Wine-Blog, Juicy Tales by Jo Diaz
Jo Diaz
Renowned chef and cookbook author Joyce Goldstein excitedly applauds the new food craze of "melting pot cooking" and her recent experiments with Petite Sirah.

"Petite is a niche variety perfectly matched for this cuisine,"stated Goldstein at the 10th Annual Petite Sirah Symposium. Concannon Vineyard, a world leader of Petite Sirah, hosts this annual event. Each year it's designed to educate winemakers on how best to craft their Petite Sirahs and to also offer ways to entice chefs and consumers to become fans of this intriguing wine.
Click here for complete article

August 06, 2012

“Petite Sirah Symposium 2012 - I love you PS”
James the Wine Guy
James Melendez
Petite Sirah is on a firm ground - more than it has ever been. Petite Sirah has had it's down turns on several accounts - it's name is confusing, "no Virginia it is not Syrah." ... Petite Sirah's best exploits will be to still enjoy as a stand alone wine but to also enhance with the spicy food world of Mexican (I look forward to pairing with my Mole Poblano), Indian, Indonesian, North African, Turkish and a whole host of other cuisines.
Click here for complete article

August 02, 2012

“10th Annual Petite Sirah Symposium”
Appellation America
Roger King
Petite Sirah is alive and well, and the Petite Sirah I Love You (PSILY) organization is thriving. That is the conclusion one could easily come to after attending the 10th Annual Petite Sirah Symposium. Held July 31st in Livermore, between Martinelli Event Center, with morning sessions, and host Concannon Vineyard for lunch and a wide ranging Petite Sirah tasting of member wines.

August 02, 2012

“Tastes Change, but Wine Surprises Never Cease”
Wine Spectator
Jim Laube
And then there's Petite Sirah, possibly the most underappreciated varietal made in California, but one that consumers are finally catching on to.
Click here for complete article

August 01, 2012

“A Big Day for Petite”
NorCal Wine
Fred Swan
Yesterday, I attended the 10th Annual Petite Sirah Symposium. I came away with excellent technical information and historical perspectives, tasted several wines I can happily recommend and made some new friends. And I poured a magnum of history myself.

Petite Sirah has a long history in California. An Alameda County acreage report from 1885 identified it by name. Concannon Vineyard released the first varietally-labeled Petite Sirah in 1964 (from the 1961 vintage).
Click here for complete article

August 01, 2012

“Petite Sirah Symposium: Is This Petite Sirah's time?”
Wine Business
Alan Goldfarb
Every year about this time, some people hope especially those that attend the annual Petite Sirah Symposium the time for their varietal to take its place in the pantheon of California wine, is nigh. Maybe, just maybe, after the 10th such trade love fest Tuesday, Petite Sirahs turn has arrived, at last.

After listening to publicist Rusty Eddy, who was here in the Livermore Valley representing his Clayhouse Wines Pet - as they're fond of colloquially calling Petite Sirah here - one comes away thinking that perhaps Petite's turn has really come.
Click here for complete article

August 01, 2012

“10th Annual Petite Sirah Symposium Hosted by Concannon Vineyard Continues the Success”
Wine-blog, Juicy Tales by Jo Diaz
Jo Diaz
The 10th Annual Petite Sirah Symposium hosted by Concannon Vineyard continues the success of the best minds converging, once again, to discuss this eclectic variety.

Jim Concannon (third generation vintner) and John Concannon (fourth generation vintner) welcomed guests on Tuesday, July 31. John Concannon, the day's Emcee, led the proceedings with his state of the grape address entitled 100 Years of Petite, and Going Strong.
Click here for complete article

August 01, 2012

“Que Syrah Sirah Revisited”
Betty's Wine Musings
Betty Kaufman
Syrah and Petite Sirah are wonderful BBQ and campfire wines. Their smokiness and deep berry notes make them the perfect red wines for these summertime settings.
Click here for complete article

August 01, 2012

“Petite Sirah We Love You”
WineOh TV
Monique Soltani
On Tuesday, July 31st at the Martinelli Event Center in the Livermore Valley Wine Country, all things big, rich, dark, spicy, and fruity were discussed at the tenth annual Petite Sirah Symposium. As guests were seated, Jim & John Concannon, members of one of the founding families in California wine, introduced and welcomed guests from near and afar.
Click here for complete article

July 31, 2012

“LARRY VAN AALST HOSTS LIVE FROM LIVERMORE”
What's Cookin' Today on CRN
Courtney K
If they could speak, the rocks of Concannon Vineyard would tell a tale rich in history. When James Concannon planted his first vineyards and built the winery in 1883, he established Concannon as a founding family of California wine. Now, with four generations of family involvement, our landmark winery shows our enduring commitment to creating outstanding, award-winning wine.
Click here for complete article

July 31, 2012

“10th Annual Petite Sirah Symposium & Tasting”
Cellar Tracker
Richard Jennings
The stars for me at this event, with wines I rated 91 points or higher, were Aver Family, Cougar's Leap, Gustafson Family, Mounts Family, Robert Biale, Ruby Hill, Saddleback, Shoe Shine (for a rosé) and Trueheart. The superstar of the tasting, for me, was Robert Biale, with four Petites or Petite blends I rated 93 points or higher, including an advance look at their 2010 Royal Punishers, which bore out the strong claims a few winemakers were making for the high quality of the 2010 vintage for Petites.
Click here for complete article

July 31, 2012

“Latest in Petite Sirah Showcased at an Ancestral Home”
Taste California Travel
Dan Clarke
I drove over to Livermore yesterday. The occasion was the 10th Petite Sirah Symposium. As you might expect, all assembled had an interest in wines made from the Petite Sirah grape. There were farmers who grew the grape, wine makers, wine marketers and members of the press. Early versions of this annual gathering were held at Foppiano Winery up in Sonoma County. I had attended some of them and the Livermore meeting was a good time to catch up with recent developments.
Click here for complete article

July 20, 2012

“The Tenth Annual Petite Sirah Symposium”
Wine Country This Week
Editorial Staff
The best and brightest Petite Sirah talent in California is again gathering to discuss Petite Sirah grape growing, winemaking and marketing issues as they continue to share their enthusiasm for this stealth variety of consequence.

July 19, 2012

“Petite Sirah Smack-down - Round 2; 8 More Petite Sirahs... 1 Winner!”
Enofylz
Martin Redmond
The most recent Pacific Point Wine Tasting Club meeting was a continuation on our exploration of Petite Sirah ("Pets"), more affectionately know as Round 2 of the Petite Sirah Smack-down (In case you missed it, the results of the first P.S. Smackdown under Related Articles below).
Click here for complete article

July 04, 2012

“Wine Without Pretense: Petite sirah is a big favorite”
Gainesville Times
Randall Murray

Petite sirah is anything but petite. This resurgent dry red table wine, often referred to as "a winemaker's wine," is climbing the popularity charts in this country, chasing such competitors as merlot, malbec and cabernet sauvignon for favor among American winos.

And if you never have tried a petite sirah, track one down, chill it slightly and pop the cork (or unscrew the cap) with a meal of hearty red meat or spicy food.

July 01, 2012

“Petite Sirah”
Connoisseurs' Guide to California Wine
Charles Olken
Petite Sirah: There is reason to think that Petite Sirah has begun to challenge Zinfandel in some quarters as the go-to rustic red. Not only does Petite Sirah seem to like rare beef and lamb more than does Zin, but it seems also to handle the coarse side of its personality in such a way that it makes a positive out of inky color, big tannins and sinewy textures.
Click here for complete article

June 26, 2012

“Petite Sirah”
Wineslines Online
Glen Frederiksen
Field Stone, Hess Collection, Artizin, Line 39, and Redtree are all reviewed.
Click here for complete article

June 26, 2012

“CSI in the Vineyard: Discovering the Heritage of Petite Sirah”
Winelines Online
Glen Frederiksen
Petite Sirah is very much a Noble Grape, and it is flourishing today in the New World, specifically California, Australia, Argentina, and Brazil. Winemakers have learned to tame the tannic harshness of the grape, and are now making full-bodied, plush renditions that have flavor profiles of blackberry, blueberry, black plum, black pepper, herbs and game. It is a collectible, ageworthy wine examples from the 1970s are still drinking well today.
Click here for complete article

June 24, 2012

“Petite Sirah”
Chicago Sun Times
Peter Hoyne
2007 Girard Petite Sirah ~ Napa Valley ~ Founded 35 years ago, Girard Winery has a long history and loyal following for their sturdy Petite Sirahs. They source their grapes from three separate vineyards, including fruit from the 100-year-old Godward Vineyard. Concentrated and refined in it's expression, this wine has elements of dark coca, white pepper and crème de cassis that follow through to a vibrant and lengthy finish. This wine speaks more of purity and substance than mass.

June 15, 2012

“Move Over Zinfandel - Petite Sirah Is Coming Through”
Connoisseur's Guide to CA Wine
Stephen Eliot
Zinfandel is often called Californias unique claim to fame, but I am beginning to wonder if it might soon have to move over a bit and share the stage with Petite Sirah.

Yes, I know that Petite actually has Gallic roots and owes its very life to one Monsieur François Durif, but it is more or less a failed grape in France, and precious little of the stuff is even grown there. There is a smattering to be found down under in Australia, but absolutely nowhere can you find as many Petite Sirahs of intent and real interest as you can in California, and the number is on the rise.
Click here for complete article

June 14, 2012

“Petite Sirah Smackdown! 12 Petite Sirahs - 1 Winner!”
Enoflyz
Martin Redmond
The most recent Pacific Point Wine Tasting Club meeting featured Petite Sirah ("P.S."). There was a diverse selection of P.S. from wine regions throughout Northern, and Central California. There were three from Sonoma, 2 each from Napa, Mendocino, and Paso Robles along with Livermore, the Sierra Foothills and Santa Clara Valley. It was big night in that not only were there 12 P.S. to taste, there were also 18 tasters! The taster's experience with wine was a diverse as the regions. There were a few hardcore "winos" who have lots of experience with wine, but the majority of the tasters are less experienced.
Click here for complete article

June 06, 2012

“Publisher”
Cuvee Corner
Bill Eyer
Time for another Wine Wednesday wine of the week and shining brightly in the spot-light is the Hess Allomi Petite Sirah. I've really become a big fan of Petite Sirah of late, I've started filling up my cellar with them, buying as many as four at a time, in some cases.

I love the way it tattoos my tongue with wonderful, rich dark, ripe blackberry flavors. To me this is a wine-lovers wine, it's big and burley, an inky gob of goodness, just waiting to be uncorked.
Click here for complete article

May 29, 2012

“Petite Sirah: Survivor Grape”
dot-wine
Ann Kenney Miller
There is nothing dainty about Petite Sirah. Inky and peppery, this wine packs a wallop of tannins, that astringent quality that is not so much a flavor as it is a sensation. Like a scrappy wrestler who is more sinew than flesh, Petite Sirah will muscle down a steak, a stew or an earthy sandwich of Portobello mushrooms.

May 21, 2012

“Weekend Wine and Food Pairing- Petite Sirah and Dark Chocolate”
Wine and Good Food
Bella
I have mentioned pairing dark chocolate and Petite Sirah before and it still remains one of my all time favorites.  As much a people like to think that red wine and chocolate naturally go together, it can sometimes be difficult to find a great match.  I first tried Petite Sirah with dark chocolate a couple of years ago and was amazed at how harmonious the flavors of the wine and chocolate were together.  A perfect dessert combination.
Click here for complete article

May 15, 2012

“Petite Sirah shouldn't be overlooked”
scnow.com
Joshua Mason
Petite Sirah is big in flavor and will take on the food, but the wine is beautiful all by itself. It has aromas and flavors of cherries and plums. If you are looking for something different, give this wine a try. Here are a few suggestions that are great either blends or Petite Sirahs outright: ... Michael David Petite/Petit, Michael David Petite Sirah and Ridge Zinfandel/Petite Sirah blends.
Click here for complete article

April 20, 2012

“Who's Your Daddy?: Petite Sirah”
The Academic Wino,
Becca Yeamans
Petite Sirah, also known as Durif or Petite Syrah, was originally developed in the late 1800s in France, though is probably most known for its wines produced from California grapes. Petite Syrah tends to be a relatively robust grape, with sturdy long-lived vines that thrive in many different types of soil.
Click here for complete article

March 25, 2012

“4 Noteworthy Petite Sirahs”
The Line On Wine
Jay and Nancy Walman
Here are some Petites (some not so Petite). All delicious and unique: Michael David Petite Petit, Concannon Captain Joe's Petite Sirah, McCay Cellars Petite, and Earthquake (also from Michael David)
Click here for complete article

March 24, 2012

“Here Are 4 Petite Sirahs”
The Walman Report
Jay and Nancy Walman
(Some Not So Petite). All Delicious and Unique.
Click here for complete article

March 14, 2012

“Pairing Petite Sirah”
Casual Connoisseur
Kristin Hanson
Petite Sirah is one of the dark grapes that are often referred to as "black grapes." This is largely due to the dark skin of the grape itself, however if you ever uncorked a bottle of Petite Sirah, you have seen exactly how inky and dark the end of the cork is.
Click here for complete article

March 14, 2012

“A Tale of Two Wines”
Wine Press Northwest
Andy Perdue
This is one of the best stories that includes Petite Sirah that's been written in a very long time. Andy Perdue writes, "I don't know that two red wines could be more opposite than Pinot Noir and Petite Sirah. One is classy, the other brash. One is a poet, the other a rocker. One is a ballerina, the other a pole dancer. One is Ichiro, the other Hulk Hogan. One is Jacob, the other Esau. One I adore, the other I crave. One I love, the other I desire."
Click here for complete article

March 12, 2012

“Petite Sirah- Not Petite At All”
WineSpeak USA
Nick Webb
I've got this new thing where I've been trying to match wine varietals to a famous figure or actor. To me, Petite Sirah screams Robert Duvall. It (and he) are underrated, manly and bordering on badass, and get better with age.

March 08, 2012

“Dark and Delicious - Petite Sirah and Gastronomy”
ViciVino.com
Lori Lapides
Larry and I enjoy Petite Sirah very much and this venue pairs it so well with food, which really helps capture the real complexity of the grape. We were able to speak to the winemakers, owners, and other staff of each winery.

March 07, 2012

“Petite sirah chases away winter chill”
The Times Tribune
Dave Falchek
Petite Sirah has cemented its cult-like, but growing, following with the advocacy group "P.S. I Love You" and light-hearted tastings such as "The Purple Tooth Tour," or "Dark and Delicious."

If you want to start exploring the joys of petite sirah, you can try one of these three excellent and reasonably priced versions.

The Crusher 2009 Petite Sirah smells like Raisinettes and dark raspberry, full of juicy, ripe, sweet fruit with nice acids and a clean finish. $13.
Click here for complete article

March 01, 2012

“Petite Sirah”
WineOh.TV
Lindsey Roffey
Petite Sirah's popularity will most likely continue if growers and consumers alike start to think outside of the box and help bring the grape out of obscurity by creating, attending, and drinking Petite Sirah at events, tasting, and food pairing opportunities. With renewed interest in the buying minds of the consumer to try something new, Petite Sirah does have a chance, especially with American's new affinity to enjoy food with wine.
Click here for complete article

February 29, 2012

“Bites at Dark and Delicious 2012”
Fer's Bite
Fer
It was Dark and Delicious if you know what I mean. If you are thinking about Petite Sirah, tasty bites, Chocolates and a lot of Pigs then we are on the same page. It's my first time going to this event and I loved it. The event was held at Rockwall winery in Alameda which is a beautiful event space with a great view of the San Francisco skyline. This is the perfect place for this celebration. You are surrounded by barrels of wine on an old airplane hangar.
Click here for complete article

February 29, 2012

“Petite Sirah and the Sierra Foothills”
Sierra Foothills Winery
Barbara Keck
The latest lauded Petite Sirah tasting in Alameda, "Dark & Delicious", was by all accounts a great success. I missed it, but sent a photographer and a note-taker. I followed up with some of the wineries, and here are some remarks worth noting:
Click here for complete article

February 28, 2012

“Dark & Delicious-2012 - A Petite Sirah Cult Gathering”
gateway to WINE
Rick Fraga
For over 20 years Petite Sirah has been one of my favorite varietals... did I get tickets for this one... Oh hell yes.

February 24, 2012

“Petite Sirah Prep - Contrast Stags Leap and Ridge Dynamite Hill”
Brix Chicks
Brixchick Liza
It's nice to have good friends. With all the BrixChicks otherwise unavailable, I called upon one of my good friends to take up the burden of the extra ticket I found myself with for last week's "Dark and Delicious" event. Ha! BrixChick stand in Marina jumped at the chance to swill study a variety.
Click here for complete article

February 22, 2012

“Petite Sirah: French Reject Excels in California”
Palo Alto Patch
Richard Jennings
...an event called Dark & Delicious - at Rock Wall Winery in Alameda.

There I got to check in on a lot of producers whose wines I've enjoyed over the years, as well as to learn about a couple of new ones whose wines were quite good. I highly recommend the event too for the delicious food that's offered, by over 35 purveyors, to show how well Petite Sirah/Durif pairs with a variety of food, from barbecue, pulled pork and meaty pastas to dark chocolate.

February 21, 2012

“Petite Sirah: French Reject Excels in California”
RJonWine .com
Richard Jennings
Petite Sirah is, along with Zinfandel, one of California's heritage and most distinctive grapes. It can produce wonderfully complex, rich, black fruited wines, often with floral, blueberry, tar, licorice and peppery dimensions.

With several years of bottle age, the wine's huge tannins start to soften and additional savory characteristics start to show. I have had wonderful examples with 20 years or more of age.
Click here for complete article

February 21, 2012

“Dark & Delicious 2012: Petite Sirah Tasting”
ViviVino..com
Larry Lapides
Lori and I recently attended the 2012 Dark & Delicious tasting event, put on by the PS I Love You Petite Sirah group. As always, this annual event was held at Rock Wall Wine Company in Alameda, which is one of the old Naval Air Station buildings. I last went to Dark & Delicious 2010. We love this event because it's not just about the wines, but also about pairing food with Petite Sirah. It's also a small event, so you can get around to see all the vendors in a couple of hours.

February 20, 2012

“Recap of 6th Annual Dark & Delicious - The Petite Sirah Event Of The Year!”
Enoflyz
Martin D. Redmond
I attended the 6th annual Dark & Delicious ("D&D") last Friday. D&D is an excellent opportunity to take a walk on the "dark side" for Petite Sirah (“P.S” – a.k.a. “Pet”.)and food lovers. The event is put on by an advocacy group of P.S. winegrowers, and producers known as P.S. I Love You. This year's event featured 58 wineries, and 36 food companies. Petite Sirah tends isn't top of mind when it comes to red wine (or actually in the case of P.S., mostly inky purple-black wine) but for those of us who love P.S. this is the event of the year.
Click here for complete article

February 20, 2012

“Dark and Delicious was Delightful”
Two Guys From Napa
Craig Kellar and Robert Gonzales
Well now, THAT was fun. The 2012 Dark and Delicious, a food and wine event presented by the PS I Love You organization, was on February 17th and we had a great time. We reached our goals of revisiting some old friends, discovering a few new wineries, and eating delicious treats. We've already marked our calendars for next year.
Click here for complete article

February 19, 2012

“It was Dark, it was Delicious, and it's thankfully Done for another great year...”
WineBlog.org ~ Juicy Tales by Jo Diaz
Jo Diaz
This party is as grass roots as it gets. Based in Alameda (who else bases an annual varietal wine and food event there?) looking outward to the San Francisco skyline, someone told me on Friday night, "It reminds me of the the early beginnings of ZAP." I wasn't there, so I don't know and can't compare... I do believe, though, that we're on a different path with a much slower growth, because not everyone and his father's planting a lot of Petite Sirah the way Zinfandel plantings have exploded over the years.
Click here for complete article

February 08, 2012

“Petite Sirah”
Harold Baer Wine
Harold Baer
Currently, Petite Sirah is made in a wide range of styles from rustic to elegant. It is also produced  with widely varying alcohol levels as can be seen from those reviewed below that have alcohol levels from 12.5% to 15.7%.

February 01, 2012

“Without Sponsors, Dark & Delicious just wouldn't be... February 17, 2012”
Wine Blog ~ Juicy Tales by Jo Diaz
Jo Diaz
Without Sponsors, Dark & Delicious just wouldn't be... February 17, 2012
Click here for complete article

February 01, 2012

“2012 Dark & Delicious Petite Sirah Tasting: February 17, Alameda”
Vinography
Alder Yarrow
I've referred to it in the past as "the beast." Possessing tannins that need to be tamed through intelligent winemaking, Petite Sirah can truly be a monster of a wine. One of the least-well-known red grape varieties that are commonly grown in California, it does not command legions of rabid followers like those who attended last week's ZAP Zinfandel festival, or the loyal drinkers of Cabernet, or even those who swear by Syrah, from which it takes its misleading name. In the right hands, however, Petite Sirah can be a stunning wine -- deep, resonant, and rich.
Click here for complete article

February 01, 2012

“Petite Sirah Finds its Mystique”
Tasting Panel
Randy Caparoso
Don't look now, but Petite Sirah has become a serious varietal category - and the trade and consumers are falling in love with it. Plantings of Petite Sirah in California now exceed 8,335 acres; a significant increase from a low of 2,400 acres (in 1995). California's Petite Sirah acreage actually peaked at 14,000 acres in 1976; but those were the days when the grape was blended into jug wines like Gallo's Hearty Burgundy (usually with Zinfandel and Carignan). This time things are different: like Zinfandel, Petite Sirah has carved out its own varietal niche.
Click here for complete article

January 30, 2012

“Ripken, Ballentine, and Pedroncelli Petite Sirah's reviewed.”
The Walman Report | Culinary Gourmet
Jay Walman
RIPKIN: Ripken Vineyards & Winery appeals to adventuresome wine drinkers with mostly non-traditional varieties producing extraordinary flavored wines...Their motto is, "No Boring Wines, but wines of conviction!" BALLENTINE: The Ballentine 2009 Petite Sirah has intense aromas of violets and boysenberries. Blueberries, cherries, and plum all dance across the palate while Sipping this wine. PEDRONCELLI: We first tasted this wine at the revered Frankie and Johnny's steak house. It was a perfect steak wine and the best buy on the list for under $50.
Click here for complete article

January 25, 2012

“Petite Sirah Winemakers: Why is Petite Sirah Important to me personally, why bother to make it?”
Wine Blog ~ Juicy Tales by Jo Diaz
Jo Diaz
From yesterday's story, here are the Petite Sirah vintner/winemaker answers, in the order of when they got back to me, regarding, "Why do you make Petite Sirah?" Girard Winery offered this video with their winemaker Marco DiGiulio, who talks about bringing the Girard Petite Sirah to a winemaker tasting as not being "fair," because everyone loves Petite Sirah.
Click here for complete article

January 24, 2012

“Is Petite Sirah, that Special Black Opal of the Wine World, a Winemaker's Wine? Winemakers weigh in”
Wine Blog ~ Juicy Tales
Jo Diaz
Is Petite Sirah, that Special Black Opal of the Wine World, a Winemaker's Wine? Winemakers weigh in
Click here for complete article

January 13, 2012

“State of the Grapes 2012”
Wine Enthusiast
Steve Heimoff
Petite Sirah. "Pettasera" (as the old-timers called it) had a pretty good run from 2005 - 2010, coming out of nowhere to gain traction. That's slowed down a bit, as consumers have wondered just why they should buy it. It's a good wine and, when well-made, distinctive and ageworthy. But Petite Sirah lacks a compelling rationale, a narrative. Stock up 4%.
Click here for complete article

January 10, 2012

“Sirah, sirah”
Santa Rosa Press Democrat
Virginie Boone
As the wine cognoscenti have liked to point out for years, petite sirah is neither the same as syrah nor in any way petite.

Despite all the confusion, people love its rustic, deeply tannic ability to stain everything in sight purple and its ability to cut through meaty, wintertime dishes, too.
Click here for complete article