December 12, 2013

“Why Petite Sirah kills with drunken pot roast (with peppercorns and juniper)”
Lodi Wine
Randy Caporoso
Which is why Petite Sirah lovers can be a crazy bunch. They even have their own wine club, called P.S. I Love You, where presumably they get together to discuss... and enjoy copious amounts of their fave-rave red. While the grape has a tendency to come across as gentle as N.F.L. linemen in tutus, one thing you can say about it: it tends to be tremendously flavorful. Your typical Petite Sirah is pungent with nostril tingling aromas and flavors suggesting hot spices, like fresh cracked black peppercorn; plus lush, compelling blueberryish fruit, veering towards blackberry and Santa Rosa plum.
Click here for complete article

December 02, 2013

“Concannon Conservancy Petite Sirah 2009 - Still One Of My Favorites”
The Reverse Wine Snob
Jon Thorsen
The 2009 Concannon Conservancy Petite Sirah begins with very pleasant aromas of dark ripe fruit, a little spice, licorice and menthol. Tasting the medium to full-bodied wine reveals lots of sweet blackberries and blueberries along with nice toasty oak notes wrapped up in a wonderful silky and full mouthfeel. Dusty and slightly sweet tannins lead into the finish of this easy and fun to drink wine. I liked it just as much as the 2008 which once again makes it one of my favorite Petite Sirah.
Click here for complete article

November 12, 2013

“Lodi positioned to ride the growing passion for Petite Sirah”
LOCA ~ The Wines of Lodi
Randy Caparoso
While American wine lovers are familiar with Syrah - often sold as Shiraz on Australian labels - the popularity of this grape as a varietal red wine has been on a notable wane in recent years. Petite Sirah, on the other hand, has become more popular than ever. It is not the same grape as Syrah: it is a crossing of two grapes, Syrah and Peloursin, originally developed in Southern France in the 1880s, and introduced to California shortly thereafter. Although wine connoisseurs have always considered Syrah to be the far greater of the two grapes, many American consumers now prefer Petite Sirah over Syrah.
Click here for complete article

November 06, 2013

“Star/NVV tasting panel: Napa Valley's Syrah and Petite Sirah keep us diverse”
St. Helena Star
Catherine Seda Bugue
Petite sirah is perhaps more understood than syrah. Consumers seem to get that the grape will offer big tannins and dark, dense fruits. It is considered one of Napa Valley's historic grape varieties although it had a schizophrenic start in the 1880s. Petite sirah was often confused with several other varieties, including syrah. Nonetheless, the grape gained favor for its dark color, fragrance and good yields. Following phylloxera, petite sirah was a key part of the finest California blends and only lost ground when varietal wines started to gain prominence.

October 28, 2013

“REVIEW: 2009 Petite Sirah from David Fulton Winery”
Wine Cooler Direct
Alissa Fehr Leenher
The 2009 David Fulton Petite Sirah was one of the first to arrive and one I've been anxious to try. They do one wine and do it well. Their dedication to great wine started in 1860 when they began what is the oldest, continuously owned and operated family winery in California. Now, six generations later the commitment and love for Petite Sirah continues.
Click here for complete article

September 15, 2013

“Petite Sirah Wine Grape, Flavor, Character, History”
Wine Cellar Insider
Jeff Leve
Petite Sirah produces inky dark, purple colored wines that offer flavors of black pepper, blackberries, blueberries, spice and licorice. Do not confuse this grape with wine produced from the similarly named Syrah variety.
Click here for complete article

August 13, 2013

“Petite Sirah, How Do We Love Thee?”
Wine Oh. tv
Monique Soltani
Are you a Petite Sirah fan? Do you know the difference between Syrah and Petite Sirah? If so, the 1,000 producers of this beautiful, dark skinned beauty of a grape want you. They want you to explore the deep dark, deliciousness that is their passion.
Click here for complete article

August 04, 2013

“Wine Fest! reels them in with gusto”
Californian.com
Laura Ness
PS I Love YOU! petite sirah keeps on rockin' The 11th annual PS I Love You Symposium, held July 23 was graciously hosted by the Concannon family at their spacious facility in Livermore, and organized by chief Petite Sirah lover, Jo Diaz and her husband, Jose. The homage to the teeth-staining grape brought a bit of historical perspective mixed with some good ideas on how to move the varietal's status upward in the minds of consumers. The theme of the agenda was R-E-S-P-E-C-T, with no apologies to either Aretha Franklin or Rodney Dangerfield.
Click here for complete article

August 03, 2013

“Petite Sirah Advocates Meet in Livermore, Continue Push for Quality”
Taste California Travel
Dan Clarke
Makers of Petite Sirah, ever upping their wine quality, have decided to adopt a more aggressive attitude in promoting the variety. The Eleventh Annual Petite Sirah Symposium was hosted in late July by Concannon Vineyard. The venue was especially appropriate as James Concannon planted Petite Sirah cuttings on his Livermore property back in 1904. Sixty years later his grandsons Joe and Jim were the first to bottle a varietally-labeled Petite Sirah. To suggest that the Concannon family has some history with this grape is to seriously understate the case.
Click here for complete article

July 25, 2013

“Petite Sirah Symposium: 11th Edition Big and Bold, Petite Set To Take Hold”
Wine Business
Laura Ness
The 11th annual PS I Love You Symposium, held July 23, 2013, was hosted once again by the Concannon family at their facility in Livermore, and organized by chief Petite Sirah lover, Jo Diaz and her husband, Jose. The homage to the teeth-staining grape brought a bit of historical perspective mixed with some good ideas on how to move the varietal's status upward in the minds of consumers. The theme of the agenda was R-E-S-P-E-C-T, with no apologies to either Aretha Franklin or Rodney Dangerfield.
Click here for complete article

July 24, 2013

“Celebrating Petite Sirah”
Betty's Wine Musings
Betty Kaufman
Petite Sirah is a wonderful BBQ and campfire wine. Its smokiness and deep berry notes make it, along with its cousin Syrah, the perfect red wine for these summertime settings.
Click here for complete article

July 24, 2013

“My keynote speech to the Petite Sirah Symposium”
SteveHeimoff.com
Steve Hrimoff
If Petite Sirah one-point-zero was the old days when nobody ever heard of it even though it was widely planted and formed the backbone of many great wines - if Petite Sirah two-point-zero was the "Petite Sirah don't get no respect" era of the last ten years - then we owe it to the grape and wine to recognize that the era of Petite Sirah three-point-zero has been launched. Here and now, let us turn the message from a negative to a positive and tell people what Petite Sirah actually is, instead of what it is not.
Click here for complete article

July 24, 2013

“Can Petite Sirah be the Next Big Thing? Can anything?”
SteveHeimoff.com
Steve Heimoff
The way to build a category is one step at a time. Let individual wineries establish their own reputations, among sommeliers, merchants and selected consumers. Let word of mouth spread the message. Let critics praise the wines (as we already are) until consumers, here and there, start thinking, "What is this 'Petite Sirah' I keep hearing about?" Curiosity has launched many a trend.
Click here for complete article

July 24, 2013

“Petite Sirah Symposium brings out the finest in Petite Sirah (Photos)”
The Examiner
Steve Ferree
The Eleventh Annual Petite Sirah Symposium was held at Concannon Vineyard, bringing together producers and lovers of the mighty Petite Sirah varietal. It was appropriate that this event was held at Concannon, who was the first to produce a varietally labeled Petite Sirah over 50 years ago. Since then, wineries in many appellations have been producing wines with this honored grape.
Click here for complete article

July 23, 2013

“drink me: petite sirah”
Grapefriend
Alyssa Vitrano
The heatwave is technically over but it's still horribly humid, and for the past few days probably all you've been drinking is crisp whites and rosés. Summertime in general doesn't tend to make people want to drink heavy reds, but summer also means Grill Time! And nothing goes better with some charred grilled red meat than Petite Sirah, so add it to your summer night repertoire.
Click here for complete article

July 17, 2013

“Wine Reviews: Petite Sirah & Blends”
Mary O'Capp
Isaac Baker - via Mary O'Capp
Petite Sirah is one of my go-to wines for this time of year, especially when I'm entertaining or hosting casual wine drinkers. Nerds and newbs alike enjoy petite sirah's chewy texture, the bold dark fruit, the earthy and peppery notes. It's no wonder wine writers love talking about pairing Petite Sirah and summer grill-outs. Serve me a Petite Sirah with anything meaty that was cooked over fire, and odds are I'll be happy.

July 15, 2013

“Concannon Vineyard Hosts Eleventh Annual Petite Sirah Symposium”
The Wall Street Journal
Jo Diaz
PS I Love You is honored to have Concannon Vineyard continuing its support for the annual Petite Sirah Symposium. Concannon, home of America's First Petite Sirah(R) , is a natural location for the continuing growth of this historic variety. This year's symposium will offer a variety of exciting insight from expert speakers and advocates of Petite Sirah...

July 01, 2013

“Petite Sirah”
Connoisseurs' Guide to California Wine - Volume 37, Issue 9
Charles Olken
The best are wonderful wines to taste because they find reasonable balance amidst their nearly unlimited vinous exuberance. They would not be our first choices to take to the table, but as witness some of the prices seen, they are immensely popular. And if that style works for you, this Issue has plenty to like and proves that Petite Sirah has not abandoned its old ways entirely.
Click here for complete article

June 26, 2013

“On Wine: Gold medals, petite sirah, port & Viano Vineyards”
San Jose Mercury News
Laurie Daniel
Petite sirah used to have something of an identity crisis. Despite its name (and the fact that some wineries added to the confusion by labeling their wines as "petite syrah"), the grape isn't a diminutive version of syrah. To the contrary, wines made from petite sirah are usually inky-dark, full-bodied and sometimes very tannic. Now the variety is better understood. It has gained enough of a following to have spawned its own fan club of sorts: P.S. I Love You.
Click here for complete article

May 25, 2013

“Wine Reviews: Petite Sirah & Blends”
Terroirist: A Daily Wine Blog
Isaac Baker
Petite Sirah is one of my go-to wines for this time of year, especially when I'm entertaining or hosting casual wine drinkers. Nerds and newbs alike enjoy petite sirah's chewy texture, the bold dark fruit, the earthy and peppery notes. It's no wonder wine writers love talking about pairing Petite Sirah and summer grill-outs. Member wines: Concannon Vineyards and Mettler Family Vineyards
Click here for complete article

May 21, 2013

“Mini-Review - Ballentine Vineyards 2010 Napa Valley Petite Sirah”
Wine and Good Food
Bella McDowell
This Petite Sirah opens with enticing aromas of dark berries and spice. The palate has layers of rich flavors that aren't too overburdened with alcohol. There are delicious notes of toffee, blackberry, boysenberry, dark chocolate, and spice. A wine that should definitely be on the radar of any Petite Sirah lover!
Click here for complete article

May 10, 2013

“Looking Behind The Remarkable Resurgence In Petite Sirah”
Connoisseurs' Guide to California Wine
Stephen Eliot
It appears that what is going on is far more than a resurgence. It is an entirely new movement with an ethos all its own. It is driven in part by better winemaking and a new sensibility of the winemakers who seek more than color and sinew. They are clearly beginning to tame the grape without losing its unique varietal voice, and we have seen more than few that are serious offerings of real richness and range. Much of Petite Sirah's new success can be traced to the tireless efforts of such promotional organizations as P.S I Love You, but however much you promote, success is never secured by slogans alone. The message needs to be backed up by substance, and it is there that new Petite shines.
Click here for complete article

May 02, 2013

“Petite Sirah ~ California's darling grape is game for grilling”
Snooth
Fred Swan
Member wines recommended: Concannon Vineyard, Robert Biale Vineyards, Artezin, Aver, Crooked Vine, Guglielmo, Gustafson Family Vineyards, Micheal David Earthquake, Nottingham Cellars, Ridge, Stags' Leap Winery, Vina Robles...

Petite Sirah offers layers of flavor beyond black fruit, particularly Chinese five-spice, leather and meat. It melds with the spice-laden stewed beef dishes of Ethiopian cuisine, the lamb tagines of Morocco, and Mexican molé sauce. But Petite Sirah loves grilled meat. Choose rib-eye steak, pork ribs, lamb chops, wild game or sausage. Do a garlic and herb marinade, a dry spice rub or just salt and pepper. Slather on barbecue sauce or don't. It's all good with Petite Sirah.
Click here for complete article

April 27, 2013

“A Couple of Great Petite Sirah Values!”
Wine and Good Food
Bella McDowell
As I am heading into the homestretch of my Petite Sirah tasting journey, I want to highlight a couple of great values. One comes from Pedroncelli Winery and the other from Bogle Vineyards. Both are surprisingly balanced with gentler tannins than many other Petites. Each come in at under $15 and really offer a nice bang for your buck!
Click here for complete article

April 25, 2013

“P.S. You Were a Hit at the Dinner Party!”
Stay at home mom, lover of wine
SAHMmelier
So what did we learn for our course in Petite Sirah? Also known as Durif, this grape is typically used in blending, but is lovely on its own. Depending on growing conditions and production techniques, the grape can produce very diverse wines. We learned that this wine is made for food, specifically hearty foods. We learned that there are some great values in Petite Sirah. Layered, rich and under $20? Yes, please.
Click here for complete article

April 24, 2013

“Gustafson 2009 Estate Petite Sirah”
Wine and Good Food
Bella McDowell
A deep purple in the glass, this Petite has intense aromas of dark fruit, cedar, and earthy herbs. The palate is loaded with flavors of chocolate, sweet oak, leather, and dark berries. Big on flavor yet balanced with many different dimensions!
Click here for complete article

April 21, 2013

“Parducci's Petite Sirah Shines!”
Wine and Good Food
Bella McDowell
Next up on my Petite Sirah tasting journey are two picks from Parducci. Parducci was founded in 1932 in Mendocino County and they offer a few different bottles of Petite Sirah. I had the chance to taste their 2009 Small Lot Blend and True Grit Reserve. Both are solid picks at great price points!
Click here for complete article

April 19, 2013

“Concannon Conservancy 2009 Petite Sirah”
Wine and Good Food
Bella McDowell
Concannon Vineyard has a rich legacy dating back to 1883 which includes being a major force in creating awareness for Petite Sirah. In 1961, they became the first winery to varietally label Petite Sirah and it has since become the flagship wine of Concannon. Their 2009 Conservancy Petite Sirah is grown on land in Livermore Valley protected against development forever. It is a blend of 95% Petite Sirah and 5% Petit Verdot and is quite delicious!
Click here for complete article

April 15, 2013

“Andis 2010 Reserve Petite Sirah”
Wine and Good Food
Bella McDowell
Pouring an inky purple, this wine has intense aromas of smoke and dark fruit. The palate features lots of tart berries, chocolate covered espresso beans, tar, and bit of spice. Not overly tannic but still a little youthful. Very enjoyable!
Click here for complete article

April 13, 2013

“Putting Petite Sirah In The Spotlight!”
Wine and Good Food
Bella McDowell
First of all, I think Petite Sirah is underappreciated and misunderstood. A lot of wine consumers are scared off by thoughts of overpowering, one-dimensional wines. It would be unfair to stereotype Petite Sirah as being one-dimensional. Of course there are some rich, jammy Petites but there is also a world of Petite Sirah that includes more expressive wines with layers of flavor that aren't overpowering. The second reason I am happy to explore these wines is because there are a whole group of wine consumers who... gasp... don't even know Petite Sirah exists!
Click here for complete article

April 10, 2013

“Petite Sirah a somewhat undiscovered gem”
Gazette.Net ~ Maryland
Louis Marmon
The latest releases of Petite Sirah show a considerable refinement in structure and approachability. The enticing flavor profile remains intact and, in many cases, has expanded. The majority of the current offerings lack the imposing harshness that necessitated decanting or a long wait in the glass and these former issues have been controlled without sacrificing the varietal’s bold nature. Those that have maintained the older, more rustic format open sooner than their predecessors. And since Petite Sirah remains somewhat undiscovered, many remain a reasonably priced, good value wine.

April 10, 2013

“Petite Sirah A Somewhat Undiscovered Gem”
Grapelines.com
Lou Marmon
Members mentioned in this story: Concannon, Line 39 North Coast Petite Sirah 2010, Bogle Petite Sirah 2010, Crusher Grower’s Selection Petite Sirah 2010, Girard Petite Sirah 2010. Others producers worth exploring include Biale, Gustafson, Artezin, Barra (try the Port-style Petite Sirah), Foppiano, Stanton, Rosenblum’s Rockpile Road, Pedroncelli, and Field Stone (including the Petite Sirah Rose)
Click here for complete article

March 26, 2013

“Wine: Petite sirah deserves some love”
The Washington Post
Jason Wilson
Every great wine country in the world makes wines from an idiosyncratic grape that offers a good-value alternative to the trophy wines. In Germany, silvaner is poured at weinstubes (taverns) in contrast to Riesling; in Italy’s Piedmont, dolcetto is an everyday alternative to the prized nebbiolo wines; and in central Spain, mencia from Bierzo offers a cool change-up to ubiquitous tempranillo. Perhaps we can see petite sirah similarly in relation to the big, expensive Napa and Sonoma cabs.
Click here for complete article

March 26, 2013

“6 petite sirahs to try”
The Washington Post
Jason Wilson
PSILY MEMBERS:

Langtry Estate Vineyards Guenoc Petite Sirah 2011

Ridge Lytton Estate Petite Sirah 2010

Bogle Vineyards Petite Sirah 2010

Parducci Small Lot Blend Petite Sirah 2009
Click here for complete article

March 15, 2013

“Petite Sirah and the Millennials (PS They Really Like You)”
Grape Experiences
Cindy Lowe Rynning
Recently I was sent many sample bottles of California Petite Sirah to taste and review. For those unfamiliar, Petite Sirah is originally from France and originally named Durif... yet it is non-existent in that country now. We can find the grape flourishing in San Luis Obispo, San Joaquin Valley, Napa, and Sonoma in California and in some parts of Washington. Dark in color with full body Petite Sirah is used in blending as well as a variety standing alone.
Click here for complete article

March 06, 2013

“Dark & Delicious 2013 brings the tasty”
Vinopanion ~ DRXENO
Ward Kadel
D&D teaches you all of this during the 3 hours of delicious Pets +, in this case, pork. D&D is known for its chill and unpretentious vibe, along with its fantastic and plentiful small bites. The National Pork Board sponsored this year's event, meaning that the 30+ chefs, restaurants, and caterers all tossed together some incredibly savory and tasty bites of food, all of which paired brilliantly with the deepness of plethora of Petite Sirah being poured. I'll leave the foodie recap to my lady, Beth Fontaine, of Rollerskating With Scissors. The wines listed below are my favs from that tasty night, listed alphabetically (PSILYDD13), and with a couple even gathering some WK Badges. Look for them near you, and enjoy their boldness!
Click here for complete article

March 01, 2013

“Recap of Dark & Delicious 2013 - The Petite Sirah Event Of The Year!”
Enoflyz Wine Blog
Martin Redmond
I attended the 7th annual Dark & Delicious (D&D) last Friday, February 22nd. D&D is an excellent opportunity to take a walk on the dark side for Petite Sirah ("P.S." a.k.a. "Pet") and food lovers. The event is put on by an advocacy group of P.S. winegrowers, and producers known as P.S. I Love You....This year's event featured about 50 wineries. I'd estimate there were 125-150 wines available for tasting. So there was beaucoup wine, including some older vintages like this wine from Teldeschi... D&D is a great opportunity to try P.S with a variety of ethnic foods... and pork... Since the event is sponsored by the National Pork Board... there is plenty of pork (a good thing in my book) in all of its glorious forms.
Click here for complete article

March 01, 2013

“Pairing Petite Sirah: Dark and Delicious”
Wine Oh TV
Lindsey Roffey
D&D is an excellent opportunity to take a walk on the "dark side" for "Petite Sirah" ("P.S" a.k.a. "Pet") and food lovers... All in all, the event was a success. Battling traffic on a Friday night was a challenge, but once you pull into Rock Wall and look out at the 180 sweeping view of San Francisco's nighttime skyline, you know that this event must be spectacular. The romance of the night, followed by food and wine, makes for a perfect evening.
Click here for complete article

February 25, 2013

“Dark & Delicious 2013 Tidbits”
Rollerskating with Scissors
Beth Fontaine
The hubbs and I recently attended P.S. I Love You's Dark & Delicious wine event at Rock Wall Wine Companyin Alameda. As always, the folks at PSILY put on a jam-packed, successful Petite Sirah lovin' party, full of fabulous wines, food and friendly faces. We enjoyed our time spent at the event, if only for an hour or so due to the bustling crowd-- I am always astonished at the amount of food and wine guests are served, for a mere $60 or so a person, it's a steal. A generous dose of delicious indeed, if you can manage to get your hands on tickets next year. It's well worth arriving early to take advantage of the hard-to-find Petite Sirah being poured and equally interesting having the opportunity to sample new, exciting local bites.
Click here for complete article

February 22, 2013

“PS I Love You Seventh Annual Dark and Delicious Petite Sirah Event”
Bach to Bacchus
TJ Jones
The Dark & Delicious Petite Sirah event is far smaller than ZAP or the Zinfandel Festival and has a much wider variety of food. There was no waiting at all for the food and with most of the wineries (up until the last hour) you could simply walk right up and ask for a pour without having to push through a crowd. Everyone seemed to be having a great time and I saw many smiling faces. There was plenty of parking and Google provided very good directions. The main reason for attending for me was to sample wines from small, limited production wineries that are not open to the public. But most people seemed to be attending simply to have a good time and it appeared they were doing so. I highly encourage you to check this event out when it comes around again next year.
Click here for complete article

February 21, 2013

“It's not too late to get Dark and Delicious!”
Brix Chicks
Liza
Not familiar with Dark and Delicious? It's a super fun event that occurs every year to celebrate all that is wonderful and good tasting around Petit Sirah. This deeply purple, sometimes high alcohol wine is often overlooked, but once you try it you will be hooked.

No better place to start than at the annual event put on by Jo Diaz, who works tirelessly to promote this as a labor of love. It' s a sentiment I can get behind! Especially when you throw all the snacks that are assembled to go with the yummy wine!
Click here for complete article

February 19, 2013

“February Fun Part 3: Bordeaux Wine Party, Dark & Delicious = Petite Sirah”
Wine Predator
Gwendolyn Alley
Feb. 22 from 6-9pm is the annual PS I Love You "Dark and Delicious" Petite Sirah Tasting and Food Event, held at Rock Wall Winery, Alameda. Taste Petite Sirahs from over 50 different wine companies paired with tasty bites from over 30 Bay Area restaurants and caters. We love that at Dark and Delicious many of the wineries bring several vintages of their petite sirahs making it fun to compare and the foods range from savory appetizers to not-too-sweet-deserts. Most of the winemakers are there pouring their own wines so it's a great opportunity to learn more about the wine from the person who made it.
Click here for complete article

February 19, 2013

“Dark & Delicious Petite Sirah Event”
Vine Sleuth
Amy C. Anderson Gross
Do you love Petite Sirah... or would you like to give it a try?

Make plans to attend PS I Love You's Dark & Delicious Petite Sirah this Friday, February 22, at Rock Wall Wine Company in Alameda, California.

You will be able to taste dark Petitie Sirahs from more than 50 wineries and nibbles from more than 30 restaurants and caterers. In addition to the current vintage, there will also be plenty of older, rarer vintages poured, as well.

February 15, 2013

“Dark... and Delicious”
Blind Spectator
Some of you may know Rock Wall are one of my favorite California wineries. Next week, they are hosting the “seventh annual Petite Sirah extravaganza”, Dark & Delicious. I expect this to be a great event for all who love food and wine! Tickets are available here.

February 14, 2013

“Petite Temptations at Dark & Delicious Petite Sirah™ ~ Pet Project Benefits, East Bay SPCA”
Wine-blog
Jo Diaz
Everything we do at PS I Love You is Petite, it seems, and the upcoming silent auction for Dark & Delicious 2013 is no exception. A portion of the this year’s proceeds will be donated to the East Bay SPCA.
Click here for complete article

February 13, 2013

“Value Wines from Around the World (RADIO)”
Wine Oh TV
Monique Soltani
... ink your teeth into a food and wine pairing that is dark, delish and decadent.  Jo Diaz gives us yet one more reason to fall in love with Petite Sirah!
Click here for complete article

February 12, 2013

“It's Dark, it's delicious, it's divine!”
Luscious Lushes
Thea Dwell
In the words of the immortal McCartney and Lennon, yes- Petite Sirah – I DO love you!
The 7th Annual celebration of Petite Sirah, Dark & Delicious, will be held at Rockwall Winery in Alameda on February 22nd.  At this annual festival off all things Petite and food, over 30 restaurants will pair their dishes with Petite Sirah producers from all over California.  Some of them will be pouring some spectacular older vintages, and this is a not to be missed event! As you might know by now, any wine blogger worth their salt is a poarkatarian.  Fortunately, the the National Pork Board is a major sponsor of D&D, which means…that’s right kids, lots and lots of bacon and other porky goodness!
Click here for complete article

February 04, 2013

“P.S. (Petite Sirah) I Love You: The Best Red Wine For Valentine's Day”
Forbes
Katie Bell
PS I Love You was started over a decade ago. Jo Diaz, owner of Diaz Communications, and Dan Berger of Dan Berger's Vintage Experiences, kicked off the idea over casual conversation. "When I started the group, I could only find 62 growers and producers combined. That was 10 years ago. Today, I am counting over 1,000 growers and producers." The growth has been exciting, but the wines themselves do all the talking.
Click here for complete article

February 04, 2013

“Taming Petite Sirah”
Wine Enthusiast
Virginie Boone
P.S. I Love You is a group of producers who've banded together to promote the variety. The organization's relaxed, teeth-staining tastings attract rabid crowds. Devotees attend in search of Petite Sirah's bold, dense black-plum fruit, its peppery and tannic nature and its affordable price... Some 40 years later, though, Petite Sirah has evolved. Vibrant, dark and deep purple in color, the wines are full of fruit, structure and acidity, and are very much alive.

Top Scoring Petites:

90 Concannon 2004 Heritage Petite Sirah (Livermore Valley).

90 Trueheart 2009 Petite Sirah (Sonoma Valley).
Click here for complete article

February 01, 2013

“Petite Sirah Paradise... Dark and Delicious 2013!”
ENOFYLZ Wine Blog
Martin Redmond
What makes this event special for me is...
• It's a "one-stop" tasting of P.S. from producers throughout Cali. It's a great chance to experience the diversity of P.S. both geographically, and stylistically.
• It's a great opportunity to get to know P.S. as a food partner beyond the typical steak and BBQ because you get a chance to try all manner of gustatory delights from savory to sweet and everything in between.
• It's offers great value! For the price of a couple of Napa Valley wine tasting, you can eat and drink ✭responsibly of course✭ 😉 to your ❤'s content.
• It has the most evocatively appropriate name of all the wine events I attend... it puts a smile on my face whenever I think "Dark & Delicious"!
Click here for complete article

February 01, 2013

“Petite Sirah Paradise... Dark and Delicious 2013!”
Enoflyz
Martin Redmond
One of my favorite Bay Area food and wine events, the 7th annual Dark & Delicious Petite Sirah is coming to Alameda later this month!  Dark & Delicious (“D&D”) is the preeminent annual Petite Sirah event in the world.  It’s put on each year by  P.S. I Love You, an association of Petite Sirah growers, producers and winemakers.
Click here for complete article

January 25, 2013

“Napa Valley's Petite Conversion ~ The valley's legacy grape makes a comeback”
Wine & Spirits Magazine
Patrick Comiskey
Of these producers only one, Mike Drash, has set up a brand devoted solely to petite sirah. He founded Arat's in 2008 with partners John and Mickey Chohany, along with Stephanie Douglas. Arat's offers three petites, one from Howell Mountain, one from a two-acre vineyard in Oak Knoll and a new wine from the same vineyard in Amador County, Shake Ridge, which Helen Keplinger also draws from.
If there is a sensualist in this group, it's Drash. He's the one prone to speaking of how petite's earthy, 'close to the ground' aromas seem almost historic; as an amateur historian, he sees petite sirah as part of the Napa Valley's genealogy.

January 21, 2013

“Show Petite Sirah Some Love: The 2013 Dark & Delicious Wine and Food Event”
Two Wine Guys From Napa
Craig and Robert
Bay Area residents should know that Dark & Delicious Petite Sirah™ provides an amazing wine and food experience, and it’s just a month away.  With 55 premium Petite Sirah wineries and 30 fabulous Napa and Bay Area restaurants, caterers, and food purveyors, don’t miss out on your chance for this much fun, food, and wine in a convenient East Bay location (and parking is free!).  Dark & Delicious is on Friday, February 22, 2013, from 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm, once again at Rock Wall Wine Company (2301 Monarch Street, Suite 3D, in Alameda).
Click here for complete article

January 14, 2013

“Petite Sirah - it is not Petite, it is not Syrah or Shiraz, rather it is another name for Durif”
Wine Musings Blog
David Raccah
Musings and comments on the world of Kosher wine ~
This past weekend I was really excited to go through all the kosher Petite Sirah (PS) wines that I have. Before you ask, Petite Sirah is NOT a Syrah or Shiraz grape in any way.
Click here for complete article

January 05, 2013

“From the Wine Cellar: Petite sirahs offer bold flavors at mostly affordable prices”
Gannett News Service ~ Poughkeepsie Journal
Robert Scheer
On Christmas Day, I opened a 2010 Girard petite sirah I bought at Costco...and took me three days to finish. Big, young, bold wines like this do just fine with a few days in the fridge, and actually can improve a bit because of the air they get. Other wines to try in the $20-$40 range are made by ... Rosenblum and Stags’ Leap [Winery]... 

January 04, 2013

“Wine Dude: Petite sirah can be a real tough-guy red with a pretty name”
INDYSTAR.com
Robert Scheer
Petite sirah was my first wine love. In the early '90s, I went wine-tasting with two of my sisters in a little So Cal area called Temecula (just north of San Diego) and ended up with three bottles of it. If my memory is right, they were 1985 petite sirah bottles from area pioneer Cilurzo Winery.

Members mentioned: Bogle, Concannon, Ridge, Girard, Rosenblum, and Stags' Leap