January 28, 2017

“'Old Vines' shine through ”
The Emporia Gazette
Regina Murphy
Patty and Chris Bogle built Bogle Vineyards from 18 acres of petite sirah and chenin blanc grapes in the Sacramento delta into a regional wine powerhouse. The couple established their winery in 1979. The Bogles started with 4,000 cases annually; they now ship more than 1.2 million cases from facilities throughout Northern California.
Click here for complete article

November 19, 2014

“Petite Sirah packs a flavorful wallop”
News-Press.com
Julie Glenn
As a wine it is inky dark purple in color and, because of the tiny berries, it has much greater skin-to-juice ratio, meaning more tannins and firmer bite. It likes warm weather so it has some jammy notes a la blueberry pie, and if you are prone to purple teeth when you drink red wine you might want to stock up on Crest white strips because this cute little petite grape makes a wine with a wallop.
Click here for complete article

November 03, 2014

“Just Another Family Get Together”
ViciVino.com
Lori and Larry Lapides
PS I Love You is the Petite Sirah industry advocacy organization, and Dark & Delicious is a great event showing off different wineries and interesting food pairings, all around Petite Sirah.
Click here for complete article

October 28, 2014

“Bill Zacharkiw's Wines of the week: Stags' Leap”
Montreal Gazette
Bill Zacharkiw
"Every time I taste this wine [Stags' Leap Winery] I wonder why there isn't more petit[e] sirah in Napa. Full bodied, velvety, but with a hidden acidic streak that refreshes. Tannins are sculpted for sure, but for the style this is great. Power and restraint.
Click here for complete article

October 08, 2014

“Off-the-Beaten-Path Red Wine Varieties... And Why You Should Try Them”
FIX
Joe Roberts
Petite Sirah is inky-dark, with a deep, dark, teeth-staining purple hue. Its aromas are quite soft, and include perfume, chocolate, violets, and blackberry fruits (making it somewhat similar to the more common Syrah, which is a different grape)... This grape often makes "full-throttle" wines that are not just full-flavored, but are also full-bodied. While that isn't typically a quality you'd think to match with spicy cuisine, Petite Sirah is surprisingly versatile with curry dishes, and seems almost tailor-made for beef kabobs.
Click here for complete article

October 03, 2014

“Feast Q&A: Darrell Corti talks farm-to-fork and 'Legends of Wine' event”
Sacramento Bee
Chris Macias
How about a red grape varietal that signifies the Sacramento area? Petite sirah. How could this have happened? Petite sirah sells incredibly better than syrah and it wasn't supposed to be like that. Petite sirah almost became extinct in California. It can be dense, inky and thick and unappealing. Curiously, in areas where people have (success) with it, like Clarksburg, the wine is not like that. There's a certain lightness to the wine. I think the producers started looking at this wine, which was used primarily for blending, and it was terrific for giving color, and realized it needs a lighter hand in making it.
Click here for complete article

July 17, 2014

“The Ultimate Summer Wine: Petite Sirah Roundup”
The Daily Meal
Gabe Sasso
Summer is here and grilling season is in full swing. Whether you're pulling burgers, ribs, chicken, or portabellas off of your grill, you'll need a wine that will pair well with all of those things. Petite sirah, generally one of darkest, inkiest, and most intense wines out there, is too often relegated to winter and paired with stews and pot roasts. Don't get me wrong - it works fabulously with those dishes, but it works equally well, if not better, with grilled or smoked foods.
Click here for complete article

June 21, 2014

“ProfessorBainbridge.com”
Professor Bainbridge
Guess what? Petite Sirah ages well.... "At age 18, this 100% Petite Sirah is fully evolved. It's thrown a huge amount of sediment, which has left the wine a medium-deep ruby instead of the intense purple/black it was when I first bought it upon release. "
Click here for complete article

June 12, 2014

“3 Burly, Manly Wines for Dad”
Phoenix New Times
Nathan Claiborn, Vine Geeks
This year, let's put the cufflinks, mitre saws, and weed-whackers back on the shelf and get Dad something that appeals both to his masculinity and hedonism... Wine... Petite Sirah
Click here for complete article

May 05, 2014

“Petite sirahs are coming: Be prepare to be enthralled”
Wine & Dine Walla Walla
Andy Perdue and Eric Degerman
It is a wine I adore - desire, actually - because of its devil-may-care attitude and an ability to age far better than many other reds. Most of the world's petite sirah is grown in California. But the grape is migrating up the coast and establishing itself in tiny amounts throughout the Pacific Northwest, particularly in Washington's arid Columbia Valley.
Click here for complete article

May 02, 2014

“Petite sirahs are coming: Prepare to be enthralled”
Seattle Times
Andy Perdue and Eric Deggerman
It is, by definition, a French grape. But in the depths of its soul, petite sirah embodies the American spirit. It is Johnny Cash giving a one-fingered salute, Bob Dylan playing a haze-filled Greenwich Village coffeehouse, Guns N' Roses thrashing through "Welcome to the Jungle." It is equally comfortable in jeans or leather, cowboy hat or spiked helmet.
Click here for complete article

April 30, 2014

“Wine: There's so much to say about petite sirah”
Portland Press Herald
Joe Appel
Petite sirah is that sort of direct pleasure; what we used to call a "guilty" pleasure though we are all past thinking of any pleasures with guilt, are we not? In the right hands, the wines remind me of the food revolution that David Chang wrought, elevating an almost junk-food aesthetic to the realm of the holy by sheer force of attention, passion, and technique.
Click here for complete article

April 04, 2014

“There is nothing small about petite [Petite] Sirah”
DC Democrat and Chronicle
Holly Howell, ROC
A few years ago, I held a blind tasting of petite Sirah. Everyone brought a wine in a brown bag, so we could rate them without seeing the labels. Eight out of 10 of the bottles turned out to be Bogle Petite Sirah. No surprise, because it is one of the most well-known in California, and the winery makes a spot-on version. If you've never tasted a petite Sirah, this is a must try - and a runner-up in the Wine to Try column at about $10 a bottle. The winner this week? The Crusher "Grower's Selection" Petite Sirah 2011.
Click here for complete article

March 28, 2014

“Petite Sirah revisited”
SteveHeimoff.com
Steve Heimoff
Petite Sirah is an interesting wine in several respects, not simply because it can be very good, but because it illustrates the difficulty of getting the consumer to try something he or she night not be familiar with.
Click here for complete article

March 28, 2014

“Petite sirah producers coax big flavor from small grapes”
the Spokesman-Review
Eric Degerman And Andy Perdue
The wine pairs well with roasted or grilled red meats, venison, barbecued pork, rack of lamb, lentil casserole, carne asada, meatloaf, lasagna or a meat-laden pizza.
Click here for complete article

March 27, 2014

“Petite Sirah catching on in Pacific Northwest”
The Bellingham Herald
Eric Deggerman and Andy Perdue
Petite Sirah gets its name because the actual grapes are small, even though the resulting wine tends to be big, bold and tannic. Because of this, Petite Sirahs tend to be among the most age-worthy wines produced.
Click here for complete article

March 27, 2014

“Northwest Wine: Petite Sirah catching on in Pacific Northwest”
Yakima Herald
Eric Deggerman and Andy Perdue
Petite Sirah can be found in most areas of California, particularly Napa, Sonoma, the Sierra Foothills and Lodi. As recently as a decade ago, it would have been difficult to find a Petite Sirah from the Pacific Northwest. Today, at least 20 different examples are made, and the variety is quickly gaining fans amid wine lovers and winemakers alike.
Click here for complete article

March 25, 2014

“Wine: Petite sirah deserves some love”
The Washington Post
Jason Wilson
Among wine people, it feels vaguely embarrassing to admit that you enjoy petite sirah. Last year, after I recommended a $9.99 Bogle petite sirah as one of several inexpensive, widely available "gateway" bottles for young millennials just discovering wine beyond the Franzia box, a sommelier friend chided me. "Are you kidding me, dude? Petite sirah?" I was sufficiently shamed, for about 30 seconds. Then I asked him what else - from California, at that price point, as easy to find - he'd recommend. I was met with silence.
Click here for complete article

March 01, 2014

“Petite Sirah, We Loved You: Favorites at the 2014 Dark & Delicious”
Two Guys From Napa
Craig and Robert
Last Friday, we had fun celebrating a single varietal at the Dark & Delicious Petite Sirah™ event when it showcased Petite Sirahs during another outstanding wine and food experience. After enjoying tastes from over 70 wineries, restaurants, caterers, and food purveyors, we ended the evening happy and satiated (and not coincidentally, quite full).
Click here for complete article

February 24, 2014

“Enjoying Petite Sirah at Dark & Delicious”
StevweHeimoff.com
Steve Heimoff
I love Dark & Delicious for several reasons, among them the quality of the food. Jo and Jose recruit local restaurateurs and caterers, and because the wine is Petite Sirah (and "dark and delicious" are perfect descriptors for the wines), the food tends to be rich and heavy: lots of barbecue, sausages, paella, pork, beef, wild boar, Ahi tuna, not to mention irresistible chocolate.
Click here for complete article

February 16, 2014

“Eighth Annual Dark & Delicious”
Alamedan
Editors
If you live in the Bay Area, PS I Love You's Dark & Delicious event provides an amazing food and wine experience!
Click here for complete article

February 05, 2014

“Its Dark, It's Delicious - It's the Next Big Thing in Wine?”
Fermentation Wineblog
Tom Wark
Petite Sirah does need help. Among all the grape varieties that have long been grown in California vineyards, Petite Sirah is probably the most underrated and least written about. And yet, in the right hands, Petite Sirah can be among the most compelling drinks coming out of California vineyards.
Click here for complete article

February 04, 2014

“Revisiting some favorite Calif. wines”
The News Star.com
Un-named author
Sometime around 1983 I experienced a varietal bottling of Petite Sirah for the first time. It was made by John Staten at his Field Stone Winery. I don't remember the exact vintage but it was from the late 1970s. Over the years I have had many vintages of the Field Stone Petite Sirah and John Staten has been kind enough to provide me with some of his older library vintages.
Click here for complete article

January 29, 2014

“Do It: The Dark & Delicious Petite Sirah event”
Two Guys From Napa
Craig and Robert
Food and wine event lovers should know that Dark & Delicious Petite Sirah™ provides an amazing tasting experience and it's coming next month to the East Bay.
Click here for complete article