December 27, 2016

“ Five wine resolutions that will be fun to keep ”
Santa Rosa Press Democrat
Peg Melnik
4.) Go rustic. Celebrate a well-crafted, meaty varietal like petite sirah every once in a while.
Click here for complete article

December 25, 2016

“New Wine Reviews”
SteveHeimoff.com
Steve Heimoff
When the wine comes in, I review. If it doesn't, I don't. For the last few weeks, it's been coming in. I still get a kick from reviewing wines. Here are a few new ones. MEMBER SAMPLES ~~~ Rock Wall and Parducci
Click here for complete article

December 24, 2016

“Uncorked: Winemaker accepts challenge of Petite Sirah”
Daily Chronicle
James Nokes
Every bit of experience John Concannon has is needed to make Petite Sirah. The Concannon family has made wine in California since 1883 and has the oldest continuously operating winery in the U.S. Concannon is a fourth-generation vintner that waxes both poetic and whimsical about Petite Sirah, a varietal his father pioneered as a standalone wine in 1961.
Click here for complete article

December 20, 2016

“Uncorked: Strolling through the local wine aisle”
Daily Chronicle
James Nokes
Concannon San Francisco Bay AVA Petite Sirah 2014 Fourth-generation vintner and Managing Director John Concannon has a bold wine that doesn't overpower. As for a conversation starter, it'll be hard to top a wine with the San Francisco Bay AVA on its label. The winery proudly claims that it's home to "America's First Petite Sirah.' Look for an upcoming feature story on Concannon.
Click here for complete article

December 19, 2016

“Taste of Wine: Sipping and tasting in the woods of Torrey Pines”
The Coast News Group
Frank Mangio
The Lodge's Sommelier Paul Krikorian hand picked the mostly Napa Valley wines to taste, including... An impressive up-and-coming Robert Biale Vineyards caught my eye with... the "Royal Punisher," 2014 Petite Sirah Rutherford. Robert Biale is located just north of Napa city in the Oak Knoll District... Petite Sirahs are rare choices in Napa Valley... The Petite Sirah has exploding aromas of plum and fig, with rich, black fruit flavors.
Click here for complete article

December 14, 2016

“New reviews, mainly Petite Sirah”
SteveHeimoff.com
Steve Heimoff
PS I Love You, the trade and marketing group, has sent me a bunch of Petite Sirahs for review, so here goes. But first, what do I look for in a proper "Pet"? Petite Sirah must be exuberant and robust. No wimpiness allowed! Among the fullest-bodied of red wines, it wants to feel Rubensesque in the mouth: voluptuous, big-boned, and curvy. At the same time, it wants to be red-carpet elegant. No mean feat! MEMBER SAMPLES: Stanton, Kokomo, Page Mill, Barra of Mendocino, Bogle
Click here for complete article

November 01, 2016

“New Wine Reviews”
SteveHeimoff.com
Steve Heimoff
PS I Love You organized samples for Steve Heimoff. Here are his wine recommendations for MEMBER WINES: Aratas, Robert Biale, Vina Robles, Parducci.
Click here for complete article

October 03, 2016

“Michael David Releases A Second "Freak"”
PS Newswire
2014 Freakshow Red Wine is set to enter U.S. market Michael David Winery has just announced a second wine will be added to their wildly popular Freakshow brand. Releasing this fall, the 2014 Freakshow Red will be lined priced with Freakshow Cab at $20. As the show goes on, a new performer is set to take center stage.
Click here for complete article

September 27, 2016

“From the Vine: Ripken Winery dares to be different”
Stockton Record - recordnet.com
Bob Highfill
Ripken Vineyards and Winery is a bit off the beaten path. And that's not solely in reference to its location. The father-daughter team of Richard "Rip" Ripken and Susan Ripken dare to be different. But don't look for cabernet or merlot. You won't find them. What you will find are tiny lots of fun blends and standalones made from international varieties, such as Montepulciano, Teroldego, Barbera, Grinolino and Dolcetto from Italy; Grenache, Roussanne, Marsanne, Petite Sirah and Tannat from France; Graciano, Tempranillo and Verdelho from Spain and dozens more, including an American variety, Carmine (pronounced kar-meen).
Click here for complete article

September 12, 2016

“8 Big, Bold California Reds”
Wine Spectator [Subscription only can read this one]
Maryann Worobiec
MIRO Zinfandel Russian River Valley Alegria Vineyard Old Vines Reserve 2014 Score: 91 | $30 ~ Supple and polished, with blueberry and pie spice aromas and rich flavors of blackberry cobbler and pepper - T.F. CAROL SHELTON Karma Reserve Sonoma County 2014 Score: 91 | $30 ~ Dark and brooding, with black cherry and bittersweet chocolate aromas and plump flavors of orange zest, black licorice and smoky cracked pepper. Zinfandel, Petite Sirah, Alicante Bouschet, Cabernet Sauvignon, Carignane and Viognier. - T.F.
Click here for complete article

August 05, 2016

“From cabs to Rhone varieties, Paso Robles offers lots to love”
Chicago Tribune
Michael Austin
If Napa and Sonoma are the Beatles and Stones of California wine regions, Paso Robles must be Led Zeppelin. (For anyone under 30, that's Napa/Taylor, Sonoma/Biebs, Paso/Gaga. Or something like that.) ...As long as your bottle says "Paso Robles," it will almost always be good-to-great wine at a price that is not inflated to match any market-driven brand cachet. Yet another reason to love Paso. Below are my 15 favorites from a recent tasting. Newer vintages of some bottles may be available... 2013 Clayhouse Estate Old Vines Petite Sirah. Aged 15 months in oak, this single varietal is big and ripe, with plum, blueberry, black pepper, mocha and grippy tannins. $30
Click here for complete article

July 21, 2016

“Petite Sirah - The Rodney Dangerfield of wine?”
Jamaica Observer
Christopher Reckord
I first fell in love with Petite Sirah many years ago when I tasted Bogle's offering (now available in Jamaica). When patrons came into our wine bar and asked for Cabernet Sauvignon, I often suggested that they try the Bogle Petite Sirah, and they were never disappointed. I believe that great Petite Sirah can stand up with the best Cabernet Sauvignons any day. If this grape could be any TV personality it would probably be comedian Rodney Dangerfield saying, "I don't get no respect", as many winemakers don't even acknowledge it as one of the varietals in their blend.
Click here for complete article

July 19, 2016

“Wilson Vineyards Fully Mechanized”
California AG Today
Mechanization is Future for Winegrapes Ken Wilson, winegrape grower and owner of Wilson Vineyards in Clarksburg, just south of Sacramento, farms 12 different winegrape varieties and has been enjoying a productive season despite hot weather. Wilson's top winegrape varieties are Chardonnay, Petite Sirah and Pinot Grigio (Italian), also known as Pinot Gris (French), and Chenin Blanc. Presently, Wilson's winegrapes are past veraison, a stage of ripening in the physical grape maturation cycle in which the berry starts to soften and take on sweetness and color. Veraison is an excellent phase for the winegrapes to be in at this point in the season.
Click here for complete article

July 05, 2016

“Meet Theopatra, Queen of the Vineyards”
Uncorked Monthly
Mark Powers
I had the absolute privilge of speaking with Ms. Theodora Lee of Theopolis Vineyards, also known as Theopatra, Queen of the Vineyards. I learned that Theo is a successful partner and trial lawyer at Littler Mendelson where she defends employers in complex wage and hour class actions, discrimination class action lawsuits and general employment litigation. When I asked Theo why she pursed the wine industry, she responded "well, I guess I wasn't satisfied just practicing law full time and I had to go out and do something more interesting, so I pursued my passion. WINE!"
Click here for complete article

June 30, 2016

“Wines to complement a barbecue”
Tahoe Weekly
Lou Phillips
Although it originated in France, we can also claim Petite Sirah, as again California's plantings dominate. Far from being petite, this grape brings the thunder with a quite similar aroma and flavor profile to Zinfandel but with an extra dose of tannins and just plain oomph... A... super Petite... Michael David Winery's Dynamite
Click here for complete article

June 14, 2016

“Dunne on Wine: Petite sirah rediscovered ”
Sacramento Bee
Mike Dunne
Petite sirah, one of California's more enduring and versatile wine grapes, is experiencing a surge in plantings, but whether the additional acreage signals a significant shift from its customary role as supporting actor to star remains to be seen. PS STAKEHOLDER BRANDS mentioned: Michael David, Miro Cellars, and Mettler Family Vineyards
Click here for complete article

June 14, 2016

“Dunne on Wine: Petite sirah rediscovered”
The Sacramento Bee
Mike Dunne
Petite sirah, one of California's more enduring and versatile wine grapes, is experiencing a surge in plantings, but whether the additional acreage signals a significant shift from its customary role as supporting actor to star remains to be seen. While petite sirah as a varietal wine long has had a devoted following, the grape is celebrated more in vineyard and cellar for the way it bolsters the color, structure and complexity of blends. Even in varietal wines like zinfandel and syrah, it can constitute up to 25 percent of the wine with no open acknowledgment whatsoever that it is making a crucial contribution to the wine's overall impact. included members mentions: including Bogle, Concannon, Field Stone, Foppiano, Michael David and Pedroncelli
Click here for complete article

May 16, 2016

“Five petite sirahs under $30 perfect to pair with cigars”
The Press Democrat
Peg Melnik
A cigar-smoking woman I know says petite sirah is her favorite varietal. It's not surprising. Cigars and petite sirahs both have a wild side. A petite sirah is like a wild mustang that's hard to tame. At its best, it's rustic with bold black fruit, edgy tannins and a tap dance of spice. For all the cigar-smoking, petite sirah-loving enthusiasts, here are five budget bottlings that are smokin': Foppiano Vineyards, 2014 Lot 96 Petite Sirah Parducci Reserve True Grit, 2013 Petite Sirah Bogle, 2014 California Petite Sirah Michael David Winery, 2013 Petite Petit
Click here for complete article

May 11, 2016

“Appetite, market for Petite Sirah still growing”
Citrus County Chronicle Online
Ron Drinkhouse
I suspect a majority of gentle readers are familiar with the grape Syrah, or Shiraz as the Aussies call it. It's displayed in all the wine stores in jumbo 1.5-liter sizes as Australia's most prolific red grape. But if we were to mention "Petite Sirah," for many the answer usually comes out: "Isn't that just a bastard version of the main grape, with little to recommend it?" Among the list of Petite Sirah sampled recently and enjoyed included member wines: Bogle, Concannon Founders, Earthquake
Click here for complete article

April 25, 2016

“Wine Line: Amador Four Fires event heats up”
The Modesto Bee
Russ Winton
Petite sirah On one of my off weeks the paper featured an excellent column on petite sirahs by Fred Tasker of the Tribune News Service. He was correct. Stags' Leap Winery makes an excellent reserve petite sirah ($90) year after year. It's a blockbuster of a wine and one you should taste if you have the opportunity. The first winery to bottle petite sirah as a varietal was Concannon Vineyards in 1964. Had owner-winemaker Jim Concannon not taken his "petite" on the sales road in the early 1960s, I doubt there would be any on store shelves today. Concannon produces several highly rated single vineyard and reserve petite sirahs ($30-50) and their consistent California Petite Sirah is a steal for under $10. Also in that price range are Bogle and McManis. Both make everyone's Best Buy List and always score in the range of 89-91. Buy all three, bag them up, start the barbecue, invite friends with food and have a blind tasting of this big, bold, chewy, inky, full-bodied wine. Note: The next day, make sure you brush your teeth before going to work.
Click here for complete article

April 14, 2016

“A wine that perfectly blends flavor and affordability”
Coloradoan
Dave Schierling
Bogle's Petite Sirah is bold and spicy, fruit-forward and approachable, and most importantly, about $12. Like all everyday drinkers, Bogle Petite Sirah pulls double duty as a tasty pairing for a wide range of foods, and as a solitary sipper that's just plain delicious. Petite Sirah is not a grape that one might expect to make a good everyday wine: It's a bold and challenging grape that's known for big flavor. Bogle's take on it, however, turns down the volume to a much duller roar, maintaining the flavor profile without bludgeoning the palate.
Click here for complete article

April 13, 2016

“Bold petite sirah goes with bold foods”
Tribune News Service
Fred Tasker
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED - 2012 Stags' Leap Winery Ne Cede Malis Estate Petite Sirah, Stags' Leap District, Calif. (85 percent petite sirah, 15 percent other varietals): deep dark hue, aromas of violets and other flowers, flavors of black raspberries, black pepper and anise, full body, big, ripe tannins, long finish RECOMMENDED - 2012 Clayhouse Estate "Show Pony" Petite Sirah, Red Cedar Vineyard, Paso Robles, Calif. (100 percent petite sirah): deep dark hue, aromas and flavors of blackberries, black pepper and spice, full-bodied and hearty
Click here for complete article

April 05, 2016

“Bold petite sirah goes with bold foods”
The Keene Sentinel 201
Fred Tasker
How things have changed. Today growers have figured out how to tame petite sirah. They plant it in better soils, let it ripen longer before picking. They're turning out wines that, while still sturdy, are also hearty, smooth and drinkable, with flavors of boysenberries, black raspberries, licorice, brown sugar and even bacon. RECOMMENDED - 2012 Clayhouse Estate "Show Pony" Petite Sirah, Red Cedar Vineyard, Paso Robles, Calif. (100 percent petite sirah): deep dark hue, aromas and flavors of blackberries, black pepper and spice, full-bodied and hearty; $40.
Click here for complete article

March 31, 2016

“Let's Talk Wine, the petites please”
fosters.com
JoAnn Actis-Grande
I have always been a big fan of Petite Sirah and Petit Verdot. Although named "petite," don't be fooled, the wines are anything but. They are big wines with robust flavors and plenty of tannins, and precisely what I'm looking for as we transition in to the fluctuating temperatures springtime brings. Petite Sirah is absolutely delicious... Recommendations (member mentions): Bogle, Parducci, Stags Leap Winery
Click here for complete article

March 24, 2016

“Petit Bouche with Stags' Leap Winery”
Jamica Observer
Christopher Reckord
Stags' Leap Petit Sirah Napa Valley 2010 - this wine has a blend of 77% Petite Sirah, 12% Syrah, 6% Grenache, 2% Carignane, 2% Mourvèdre, 1% Viognier. This is what The Wine Advocate had to say about this wonderful wine: "The 2010 Petite Sirah Napa, a blend of 77% Petite Sirah, 12% Syrah, 6% Grenache and the rest Carignan, Mourvèdre and Viognier, is widely available as there are nearly 20,000 cases. This beautiful effort exhibits notes of raspberries, black cherry liqueur, crushed rocks, blueberries and other black fruits...
Click here for complete article

March 02, 2016

“Enjoying the spirit of youth”
Record Bee
Dave Faries
Winemaker Richard Kaz easily shrugged off any concern over releasing a young, tannic red wine into the precarious market. "They age really well," he said of Petite Sirah vintages. "But I like the fresh, fruity quality. For me, wines are made to be drunk, not laid down."
Click here for complete article

February 26, 2016

“The best wines to pair with Easter candy”
New York Daily News
Nicole Lyn Pesce
Wine and cheese, meet wine and Peeps... The Treat: Whoppers Robin Eggs The Wine: Stephen Millier Angel's Reserve Petite Sirah, $17.99 The Whoppers, flavorful malted milk balls, need a wine that can stand up to them. The Petite Sirah is intense enough to plow over the malt ball flavor and rounds out that rich milk chocolate shell.
Click here for complete article

February 24, 2016

“Petite sirah grows up, with subtler, lower alcohol wines”
thetimes-tribune.com
David Falchek
Petite sirah may be growing up. Those who deal with the small grape that packs a big punch are pulling back a little, rounding the edges on one of the biggest wines.
Click here for complete article

February 22, 2016

“Grape Notes: Petite Sirah”
The Wine Life
Maria Dewees
Meet the French grape that is grown almost entirely outside of France: Petite Sirah! You may be familiar with this varietal if you drink full-bodied Californian red blends. Winemakers favor this grape for its robust dark fruit flavors, rich colors and tannic qualities, which add backbone and character to blends. But many vineyards today are also making Petite Sirah as a single varietal wine. Give it a try if you enjoy the likes of Cabernet Sauvignon, Zinfandel or Tannat.
Click here for complete article

February 19, 2016

“Wines 'N' Such: Learning about petite sirah”
College of Central Florida
Ron Drinkhouse
So why is it the bloggers and wine mavens don't sound off more about this relatively unknown grape variety? They are missing a good bet because petite sirah contains so many of the charming elements in quality red wines we know and love. Maybe the spelling throws people off, sirah instead of syrah - where is the "y"? Consider the various ripe intense currant flavors; its inky dark, almost mysterious color (one reviewer warns don't spill any on your shirt) and savor the vivid aromas to remind us of blueberries, spices, cedar woods, even hints of eucalyptus. This is a robust variety packing plenty of backbone tannins to offer good aging ability.
Click here for complete article

February 18, 2016

“Wines 'N' Such: Learning about petite sirah”
Citrus County Chronicle
Ron Drinkhouse
Wine friends look flustered whenever I might suggest petite sirah. "I've heard a lot about syrah or shiraz, but what's the 'petite' all about?" they want to know.
Click here for complete article

February 13, 2016

“SIRAH, SYRAH”
People's Palate
Rich Mauro
...The grape thrives in California. It often has been commented that there is nothing petite about Petite Sirah wines. While they often display a flavor profile similar to their parent syrah - dark berries, tobacco, leather, earth, mineral and pepper, with an ability to age well, they typically are wines of deep color, dense structure, rustic body and agibility. MEMBER MENTIONED: Parducci "True Grit" Reserve and Fulcrum Wines
Click here for complete article

February 03, 2016

“PS I Love You Hits The Road; Reviews of Petite Sirah by Cantara, Back Patio ”
Wine Predator
Gwendolyn Alley
"It became critical to rethink how we were going to be getting out the word to more than one area in California, and be so vulnerable to something that could go terribly wrong," Jo [Diaz] explained. "So, we've morphed into regional tastings, and the membership is very excited about the new direction."
Click here for complete article

January 22, 2016

“GRAPE ESCAPE: Revisiting a 'Petite' friend”
Grape Escape
Kim Kelly
Now that we are all getting a big dose of winter, a hearty red suddenly seems very appealing. Petite Sirah is one of those lush reds you can easily cozy up to on a 10 degree night. It is also a rather unique, mysterious and often misunderstood grape variety.
Click here for complete article

January 20, 2016

“Wine Guy: Hearty wines pair well with winter meals ”
The Gazette
Rich Mauro
PSILY member mentioned as Petite to choose: "More serious is the 2013 Parducci "True Grit" Reserve ($30)" Until the past decade or so, petite sirah was a largely unknown grape used mostly for blending. But, as is often said now, there's nothing petite about Petite Sirah wines, which display a flavor profile of dark berries, leather, earth, tobacco, mineral and pepper, with an ability to age well.
Click here for complete article

January 11, 2016

“Why is Petite Sirah still so obscure, you might wonder?”
Wine Blog: Juicy Tales by Jo Diaz
Jo Diaz
Check this out... There are currently 923 Petite Sirah wine brands. ... 923 ... In 2002, there were only 62 producers and growers combined. Today, there are also 165 growers. The math? It's 1,089 wine companies directly involved with Petite Sirah. [According to the Wine Institute, in 2014, there were 4,285... We're close to 20 percent of wine companies involved in some degree with Petite Sirah.
Click here for complete article

January 11, 2016

“Petite Sirah in Paso, at last we're taking PS education to the people”
Wine Blog - Juicy Tales by Jo Diaz
Jo Diaz
PS I Love You's mission has always been, since 2002... To promote, educate, and legitimize Petite Sirah as a heritage variety, with a special emphasis on its terroir uniqueness. ... we're taking it away from a food and wine event, and getting it back to the heart of it all... To educate consumers about Petite Sirah as a heritage variety, with a special emphasis on its terroir
Click here for complete article

January 07, 2016

“Save the date: Petite Sirah in Paso Robles, Feb. 6”
www.steveheimoff.com
Steve Heimoff
It's nothing short of amazing how Petite Sirah has become a major variety and wine. It didn't exactly happen overnight; there have been plantings of "Pet" (as the oldtimers called it) since the 1800s in California, but consumers never really caught on to it as an independent variety, until the Diazes created their trade organization, PS I love You, in 2002. Many wineries have joined over the years; the organization traditionally has held its tastings in the Bay Area, so this shift to Paso Robles is significant.
Click here for complete article

January 01, 2016

“Petite Sirah is the perfect starter wine”
Pasadena Star-News
Peter Dills
Dessert before dinner? Why not? I have said many times that if you like it, buy it. Over the holidays I hosted a wine seminar at the Whole Foods in East Pasadena. Our list of wines included champagne, sangria, chardonnay and a petite sirah, with price points ranging from $10 to $50. To my pleasant surprise, the hit of the tasting was a 2010 Petite Sirah from San Simeon Winery.
Click here for complete article