Petite Sirah

News & Reviews

2020 News & Reviews

December 31, 2020

“Top Wines of 2020”
The Nittany Epicurean
Michael Chelis
At the end of each year, I look back over the wines I've tasted and put together a list of the best of the year. The Top Wines of 2019 featured selections from California and Washington State. This year's top wines all come from California. They come from three distinct winemaking regions in the state - the Napa Valley, Santa Barbara and Lake County. ~~~ For the last half of the year, I explored the roots of petite sirah made from various winemaking regions of California. This endeavor yielded two of the top wines of the year. The 2015 Phase V Petite Sirah vinted & bottled by Davis Estates* was an absolute show stopper. It was elegant, balanced and showing wonderfully when I enjoyed it. ~~~ As part of the same exploration, I brought you an exception petite sirah from Lake County. The 2017 Merisi Wines Diener Vineyard Petite Sirah produced & bottled by Manic Wines* was bold, layered with dark berry fruit and white pepper.

Click here for complete article

December 31, 2020

“Vina Robles 2018 Estate Petite Sirah (Paso Robles)”
Wine Enthusiast ~ 93 POINTS
Matt Kettmann
Quite dark and inky in the glass, this bottling begins with aromas of cassis, roasted meat and a hint of baking spice. Thick, hearty tannins frame the savory sip, where teriyaki and roast lamb flavors lead to dark berries, moving to vanilla bean and espresso on the finish.

Click here for complete article

December 24, 2020

“2015 Phase V Petite Sirah”
The Nittany Epicurean
Michael Chelus
2015 Phase V Petite Sirah "A few months back, I began an exploration of the roots of petite sirah made from various winemaking regions of California. Most recently in this endeavor, we enjoyed an example made from fruit grown in Monterey - the 2016 Stoke's Ghost Monterey Petite Sirah estate grown, produced & bottled by Scheid Family Wines. Today, we travel to Napa for another petite sirah, which may have been the best wine I've tasted this year: 2015 Phase V Petite Sirah vinted & bottled by Davis Estates (Calistoga, California). This wine is 100% Napa Valley petite sirah.

Click here for complete article

December 21, 2020

“Wines to drink with favorite holiday movies”
US99
Staff
"Love Actually" - Petite Sirah. As you get wrapped up in the nine holiday stories in this movie, enjoy a glass of this red varietal with flavor notes of black pepper, sugarplum and dark chocolate.

Click here for complete article

December 17, 2020

“Stags’ Leap Petite Sirah Napa Valley 2017”
Gus Clemens on Wine
Gus Clemens
Deep purple color; blackberry, blueberry, plum on the nose; plum, black cherry, blueberry, blackberry, chocolate, herb on the palate. Stags’ Leap Petite Sirah Napa Valley 2017 Dry; nicely integrated oak, velvety tannin, acidity. Bold blend of 85% petite sirah, 6% syrah, 6% grenache, 3% mixed Rhônes. Aged 14 months in American oak, 25% new. Concentrated dark fruit flavors. Petite sirah is everything but “petite.” Related to syrah and peloursin, petite syrah delivers very dark wines with bold dark fruit flavors. It often has significant tannin, but the tannin in this Stags’ Leap effort is tasty and well behaved—for petite sirah—to the point I did not feel the need to decant after pop and pour, to my astonishment; 14.1% ABV.

Click here for complete article

December 15, 2020

“12 California wines that define 2020”
San Francisco Chronicle
Esther Mobley
A lawyer by day, Lee is the owner of Theopolis Vineyards in the under-the-radar Yorkville Highlands area of Mendocino County, where she specializes in Petite Sirah — a bold, tannic red wine. Lee’s 2018 Petite Sirah from her estate has an aromatic profile that almost recalls an amaro: bitter, botanical, minty. The flavor of red raspberry candy pops on the palate. It’s a fruity wine with plenty of structure to balance it out.

Click here for complete article

December 04, 2020

“2015 Varozza Vineyards Petite Sirah”
The Nittany Epicurean
Michael Chelus
Back in July, we began an exploration of the roots of petite sirah made from various winemaking regions of California as part of my ongoing series of discovery of some of the great wines of the state. Most recently, this endeavor has brought us an example from Napa - the 2018 La Storia Petite Sirah grown, produced & bottled by Trentadue Winery. We'll head back to Napa now for another luscious petite sirah: 2015 Petite Sirah produced & bottled by Varozza Vineyards (St. Helena, California). ~ 2015 Petite Sirah produced & bottled by Varozza Vineyards (St. Helena, California). ~ The wine showed a dark ruby almost opaque color. Black cherry, raspberry preserves, eucalyptus, blackberry, plum, vanilla and oak all arrived on a nose boasting plentiful dark berry notes. Black cherry, raspberry preserves, cassis, blackberry, vanilla, plum and oak followed on the palate where the dark berry fruit theme continued. The wine was full-bodied and exhibited great length along with soft tannins. This wine would pair very well with seared dry-aged New York strip steak.

Click here for complete article

November 25, 2020

“Exploring California And Oregon Petite Sirahs”
Robin Dohrn-Simpson.com
Robin Dohrn-Simpson
Petite Sirah is all about passion. Jo Diaz with PS I Love You generously provided the Petite Sirahs for the Wine Review Council to review and pair with foods. Jo and the group really love Petite Sirah and love to promote this New World grape. Petite Sirah got its name because of the size of the grapes, not because the flavor is petite. It has a large skin-to-pulp ratio. The key to making a good Petite Sirah is to tame the tannins from the skins and bring forward the fruit flavor. It's one of the most powerful reds on earth and is a cross between powerful and elegant. It fares well against Global Climate Change and should continue to be a strong wine in the marketplace.

Click here for complete article

November 11, 2020

“Why Can't I Get My Favorite Wine or Craft Spirits Shipped to Me?”
VinePair
ERICA MCGRADY
While this level of complexity is more easily managed by large producers, this can limit the ability of smaller producers to expand their businesses and sell their products. When Theodora Lee of Theopolis Vineyards started selling her award-winning wine, she was told by many distributors “that I was not producing enough wine to warrant them taking me on as a client.” Lee instead relies primarily on direct-to- consumer (DTC) shipping as her primary sales channel.

Click here for complete article

November 04, 2020

“A Taste of California Petite Sirah's Charm and Diversity”
Pull That Cork
Nancy Brazil
A few months ago I had the opportunity to sit in on an online tasting with several winemakers all of whom are dedicated to Petite Sirah and members of the Petite Sirah advocacy organization PS I Love You. The tasting was hosted by Jo Diaz, (Diaz Communications) who is also executive director of PS I Love You. Subsequent to the tasting we received these eight wines as tasting samples, which offered the opportunity to get to know Petite Sirah better than I ever have. Both the discussion and the tasting were illuminating and opened my palate to a varietal wine that, even among only eight wines, demonstrated an appreciable difference in style. I found that particularly appealing: Vincent Arroyo, Berryessa Gap, Robert Biale, Trentadue La Storia, Trentadue Hearts Desire, Miro Cellars Dry Creek, Miro Coyote Ridge. Learn about each one and what Nancy Learned about Petite Sirah.

Click here for complete article

October 16, 2020

“The Best U.S. Red Wines We Tasted in 2020 For $15 or Less”
Wine Enthusiast Magazine
Jim Gordon
To help you find your new favorite bottle, we narrowed down our Top 100 Best Buys List of 2020 to 16 of our favorite reds wines from the U.S. The best part? All these selections clock in at $15 or less. ---- Parducci 2017 Small Lot Petite Sirah (Mendocino County); $14, 92 points. Sleek, sophisticated and understated, this full-bodied wine is keeping plenty of concentrated blackberry and blueberry flavors in reserve for the future. Fine-grained tannins support a surprisingly supple mouthfeel. Best through 2027. Best Buy.

Click here for complete article

October 08, 2020

“Red, White and Brew: Pay respects to the California wildfires destroying wineries with these wines”
Vail Daily
Jeff Anderson and Josh Pipkin
California wine country is on fire. The most recent Glass Fire on the Silverado Trail near Calistoga and St. Helena has damaged or destroyed several wineries, 18 of them as of Oct. 5, many of them historic landmarks. To support these wineries, I, Jeff Anderson, have picked varieties from one of my favorite wineries in Napa. Stags Leap Winery is one of Jeff Anderson's favorite California wineries. Special to the Daily The Stags Leap Winery to the southwest on the Silverado Trail of the current fires is one of my favorite places in the area. The property dates back to 1873 with the first grapes being planted in 1893. The fires in 2017 came very close to destroying the winery at Stags Leap, scorching some of the out buildings, luckily not making it to the historic Manor House. Red wine The Napa Petite Sirah is intense and dark with blueberry, blackberry and black cherry on the nose. The palate is more of the same black fruits with earthy tones and white pepper. It finishes with black licorice and plum, and the richness and medium tannins at the end leave you wanting more. I love this wine with a big ribeye steak or grilled rack of lamb.

Click here for complete article

October 01, 2020

“2020 Wine Industry Leaders”
Wine Business Monthly
Eric Kirshenmann
Theodora Lee, Queen of the Vineyards... Since the early 2000s, Theodora Lee has been farming and producing wine from her vineyards in the Yorkville Highlands in the Anderson Valley. Lee is also a senior Partner and trial lawyer at Littler, speicalizing in wage and hour and discrimination class action suits...

Click here for complete article

September 30, 2020

“THEOPOLIS VINEYARDS SYMPHONY AND PETITE SIRAH: SERVING UP PLEASURE IN THE BOTTLE ON #PINKSOCIETY”
My Vine Spot
Dezel Quillen
Posted by Dezel Quillen September 30, 2020 THEOPOLIS VINEYARDS SYMPHONY AND PETITE SIRAH: SERVING UP PLEASURE IN THE BOTTLE ON #PINKSOCIETY Hello Friends, The fun-loving bunch at The Pink Society (#PinkSociety on Twitter) recently hosted Pink-Party #62 with special guest Ms. Theodora Lee. Ms. Lee is proprietor and winemaker of Theopolis Vineyards, a small vineyard and limited-production boutique producer located in the Yorkville Highlands appellation of Mendocino County. This wine region is a hidden gem, characterized by higher elevations, well-drained rocky soils, and wide diurnal swings-all ideal for growing high-quality grapes.

Click here for complete article

September 30, 2020

“A Voice for Black Winemakers”
Wine Spectator
MaryAnn Worobiec
The AAAV was founded in 2002 as a nonprofit to promote awareness of African American vintners, create a sense of community, and reach out to wine consumers. Currently the group counts 30 vintners among its ranks, such as Theodora Lee of Theopolis Vineyards and André Hueston Mack of Maison Noir, as well as other industry professionals. Since the protests sparked by George Floyd's death began, the organization has experienced a surge in membership and donations.

Click here for complete article

September 12, 2020

“Robert Biale: Petite Sirah & BBQ, A Perfect Match”
avvinare
Susannah Gold
Earlier this summer, thanks to Tina Morey of #winestudio, I attended a zoom chat about the Petite Sirah grape hosted by Jo Diaz and a number of producers from the advocacy group called PS I Love You. ~~~ One of the wines I tried was from a vineyard called Palisades. Owned by two different families over the course of the last 25 years, it is in the Northern part of Napa. If their attention to heritage vines, good farming practices and nice Italian backstory of hard work isn' enough, the wines themselves are fantastic. I got mine as samples which was very lucky and while I know the prices are not inexpensive, they are really special. The Palisades wine was made on volcanic soils or igneous rock, on a property that was first planted in the first decade of the 1900s. The wine was ethereal which inky purple tones, and aromas of blueberries, violets, bramble, sweet spice. On the palate it also showed great minerality and depth with silky tannins and a long finish. It was perfect with a steak I marinated with some of the wine, sage and Worcestershire sauce on the grill.

Click here for complete article

September 06, 2020

“Times of BLM Correctness: Something So Simple in Petite Evolution Has Been Really So Complicated”
Wine-Blog
Jo Diaz
Legitimize Petite Sirah as a noble variety"¦ Let's face it, the French wine industry has documented wine grape nobility, and they're not going to change it, maybe not even in a blue moon. That's even if we stand on our heads and spit nickels. So, not going to even think that anymore. But, very few people now would even say it isn' a heritage grape in California. The history of Petite Sirah follows the year of American researched in a timeline, placed on PS I Love You"¦ Ahead of our research, the history of Petite had been well-documented by Charles Sullivan, our noted American, wine historian, though U.C. Berkeley Publishing.

Click here for complete article

September 03, 2020

“Behind the Wines with Elaine Chukan Brown | Esther Mobley and Kelli White”
California Wines by Wine Institute
Elaine Chukan Brown
Elaine Chukan Brown ~ One of the really early important lessons I got, in coming to know California wine over the years, were two different wine experiences"¦ [One was] tasting with Paul Draper at Ridge"¦Ridge has been working with Petite Sirah since the 70s"¦ The thing that I experienced"¦ was tasting older Petite Sirah. I didn' understand Petite Sirah is as a variety, until I got to have it aged... suddenly it's a really alive and gorgeous floral and aromatic live wine emerges"¦ That's what consistently happens with Petite. Kelli White ~ Petite Sirah is not ve

Click here for complete article

September 03, 2020

“What does it mean for a wine to taste like it's 'supposed to'?”
Esther Mobley Newsletter ~ San Francisco Chronicle
Esther Mobley
Reconsidering the notion of ‘varietal typicity,’ in this week’s Drinking with Esther newsletter (from the San Francisco Chronicle)... This week, we interrupt ongoing coverage of the wildfires and the pandemic to bring you a good, old-fashioned wine story. "Specifically, a story about Petite Sirah... these days I am also reengaging with the thrill of the typical. I'm brought back to the big, brazen Petite Sirahs that have stained my teeth in the past, including from wineries like Robert Biale Vineyards... Ridge Vineyards, and Theopolis Vineyards. Maybe it's all the chaos in the world right now, driving us toward comfort and nostalgia, but I appreciate how these wines pull at my taste memories, sparking the excitement of recognition."

Click here for complete article

September 02, 2020

“P. S., Petite Sirah, I love you”
Kitsapsun
Mary Earl
Two outstanding reasons to drink Petite Sirah are value and health. Many Petite Sirahs are really good values. Lodi, Paso Robles, Clarksburg and Livermore are good places to look for an everyday wine. Typically, from $9 to $18. ~ The other reason comes with the purple-black color of the wine. That tells you it’s full of antioxidants, specifically high levels of anthocyanins. ~ Located just south of Healdsburg, Foppiano Vineyards sits on 160 acres in the Russian River Valley appellation. The Foppiano family has been producing wine since 1896. First the field blend “burgundies” and then in the mid-1960s, they began making single-varietal Petite Sirahs. A tour of the winery in the early '90s opened up a new world of Petite Sirahs for me. This family operation helped found P.S. I Love You, an advocacy organization designed to educate and promote Petite Sirah. ~ Around Clarksburg, Warren Bogle planted his first vineyard in 1968 with Petite Sirah. This sixth generation farming family has acres of Petite Sirah, the family’s “heritage” varietal. ~ Another oldie but goodie is from Ridge Vineyards based in Cupertino but with old and prestigious vineyards near and far. Since 1962, Ridge has championed single-vineyard winemaking, searching California for those rare and exceptional vineyards where climate, soil and variety are ideally matched. ~ P.S., I love Petite Sirah and think you may love it too. Cheers!

Click here for complete article

September 02, 2020

“P. S., Petite Sirah, I love you”
Kitsap Sun
Mary Earl
Located just south of Healdsburg, Foppiano Vineyards sits on 160 acres in the Russian River Valley appellation. The Foppiano family has been producing wine since 1896. First the field blend "burgundies" and then in the mid-1960s, they began making single-varietal Petite Sirahs. A tour of the winery in the early '90s opened up a new world of Petite Sirahs for me. This family operation helped found P.S. I Love You, an advocacy organization designed to educate and promote Petite Sirah. P.S. I Love You members come from wineries, growers and consumers, all enamored of this "not so petite-in-flavor grape." Around Clarksburg, Warren Bogle planted his first vineyard in 1968 with Petite Sirah. This sixth-generation farming family has acres of Petite Sirah, the family's "heritage" varietal. Named 2019 American Winery of the Year, today Bogle Vineyards farms over 1,900 acres of wine grapes. Bogle sources fruit throughout California, ferments lots separately, and blends with the best grapes from their estate vineyards. Another oldie but goodie is from Ridge Vineyards based in Cupertino but with old and prestigious vineyards near and far. Since 1962, Ridge has championed single-vineyard winemaking, searching California for those rare and exceptional vineyards where climate, soil and variety are ideally matched.

Click here for complete article

September 01, 2020

“Merisi Wines”
Enoflyz Wine Blog via Facebook
Martin Redmond
I was introduced to this wine as part of recent P.S. I Love You #virtualtasting. Merisi Wines is operated by winemaker Mandy Heldt Donovan. It is named after the Italian painter Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio whose art evoked a style of passionate realism: rawness, a powerful sense of what really happened. With this inspiration, Merisi wines combine minimal intervention winemaking with sustainably farmed, family vineyards to create wines that represent their place of origin explains Donovan.

Click here for complete article

September 01, 2020

“Petite Sirah, one of California’s most maligned wines, gets a lighter, better makeover”
San Francisco Chronicle
Esther Mobley
Let's be clear: This is not an obscure grape variety. Petite Sirah is the sixth most widely planted red grape in California, with more than 12,000 acres, barely trailing Syrah"¦ interpreting the grape variety in a way that emphasizes finesse and grace over monolithic power "” showing that there's a reason to get excited about Petite Sirah after all"¦ In a literal sense, too, Petite Sirah is a very American grape. It's the rare example of Vitis vinifera "” the European wine grape species "” that has never been cultivated in any meaningful way in Europe. Everything that's known about Petite Sirah, essentially, was learned on American soil.

Click here for complete article

August 31, 2020

“2018 Trentadue Winery La Storia Petite Sirah”
The Nittany Epicurean
Michael Chelus
My exploration of the roots of petite sirah made from various winemaking regions of California as part of my ongoing series of discovery of some of the great wines of the state has introduced several new wineries to us... Today, we'll travel to Sonoma for a petite sirah from another winery new to this series: ~~~ 2018 La Storia Petite Sirah grown, produced & bottled by Trentadue Winery (Geyserville, California). This wine is mostly petite sirah made by blending some of the winery's best blocks of petite sirah along with small amounts of zinfandel and syrah. It comes in at 14.8% ABV. ~~~ The wine showed a dark ruby almost opaque color. Black cherry, raspberry preserves, dark chocolate, vanilla, oak and whiffs of white pepper all arrived on the nose where the pepper blew off as the wine opened up. Black cherry, raspberry preserves, currant, mocha, vanilla, licorice and oak followed on the deep and complex palate. The wine was full-bodied and exhibited excellent length, a lush texture and velvety tannins. This wine would pair ideally with braised lamb shanks.

Click here for complete article

August 27, 2020

“Rethinking Petite Sirah”
Napa Valley Register
Allison Levine
"...But recently, I caught myself not heeding my own words. I am always open to trying new wines and love exploring new grape varieties. I have my go-to grapes as well. But one wine I found myself avoiding was Petite Sirah. I would never seek one out in a wine store or on a wine list. I had a preconceived notion that Petite Sirah was an overpowering, jammy, inky wine. I thought it was time to revisit the grape that I have been avoiding. And while Petite Sirah is neither petite nor Syrah, I was completely wrong about it, and am here to admit it."

Click here for complete article

August 25, 2020

“SCHEID VINEYARDS ~ Michael Chelus ~ Petite Sirah”
Nittany Epicurean Blogspot
Michael Chelis
2016 Scheid Vineyards Petite Sirah produced & bottled by Scheid Family Wines (Greenfield, California). This wine is 100% petite sirah from Hames Valley Vineyard in the Hames Valley AVA in Monterey County. The grapes were hand harvested and then destemmed into small, one and a half-ton fermenter bins. During fermentation, the cap was punched down two times per day. Following fermentation, the wine was racked to a combination of French, American and Hungarian oak barrels for malolactic fermentation and 20 months of aging. It comes in at 14.9% ABV.

Click here for complete article

August 21, 2020

“2017 Robert Biale Vineyards Royal Punishers Petite Sirah”
Nittany Epicurious
Michael Chelis
For some time, I've wanted to return the wines of Robert Biale Vineyards to my ongoing series of discovery of some of the great wines of California. Known for its production of zinfandel and petite sirah, I've long enjoyed this winery's wines. The last Robert Biale Vineyards wine we enjoyed was a zinfandel from the winery's 2015 vintage - the 2015 Black Chicken Napa Valley Zinfandel produced & bottled by Robert Biale Vineyards. Today, as part of my exploration of the roots of petite sirah made from various winemaking regions of California, we'll return to Robert Biale Vineyards to enjoy a perennial favorite:

Click here for complete article

August 21, 2020

“ENOFLYZ - Martin Redmond”
Instagram - Martin D. Redmond
Martin Redmond
Last month, I had the pleasure of participating in a P.S. I Love You #virtualtasting on Zoom with several Petite Sirah producers. One of the producers was Tres Sabores, a family-owned, woman-led winery located on the western Rutherford bench land of Napa Valley. ????

Click here for complete article

August 19, 2020

“The Davis Fam”
Instagram.com/kathleenwillcox
Kathleen Willcox
The Davis fam purchased their century-old Napa Valley estate and began restoring it in 2011. Today, the tradition and artistry of Old World winemaking dovetails with cutting-edge winemaking facilities. Phase V is Davis' line of limited production Cabernet Sauvignon and Petite Sirah produced by Phillipe Melka from their most prestigious estate blocks in Calistoga, Rutherford, Howell Mountain and Carneros. These grapes thrive in a rich array of well-draining soils"”alluvial, hambrich, volcanic, boomer loam"”with micro-climactic influences and a range of elevations that deliver an array of flavor profiles.

Click here for complete article

August 18, 2020

“Wine, etc.: Watch out for Gérard Bertrand’s biodynamic wines. They’re delicious. ”
CAPITAL GAZETTE
TOM MARQUARDT AND PATRICK DARR
Petite Sirah is often an underrated and undiscovered wine, yet we find it scores a hit whenever poured to friends. It is one of the darkest wines and thus one of the most intensive with flavors ranging from black berries to plums. Here are few good examples: Stags' Leap Napa Valley Petite Sirah 2017 ($47). About 15 percent of this wine is a blend of Rhone Valley varietals and all of the wine is vinified in American oak barrels. The wine has black fruit aromas with hints of mineral. Flavors focus on blackberries, red currants and a hint of anise and allspice. Good depth and body. Legacy Petite Sirah 2017 ($100). This delicious wine made under Jackson Family Wine's heralded Legacy label uses grapes from the recently purchased Field Stone Vineyard in Alexander Valley. About 12 percent syrah is blended into this broad-flavored, complex and rich wine with dark fruit flavors. Merisi Wines Diener Vineyard Lake County Petite Sirah 2017 ($60). Loads of ripe blackberry and plum flavors with some nice chocolate and vanilla notes. Very dense, opaque color.

Click here for complete article

August 17, 2020

“2018 Miro Cellars Petite Sirah Dry Creek Valley”
Nittany Epicurious
Michael Chelis
Today, we're headed to Dry Creek Valley for another great petite sirah: 2018 Petite Sirah Dry Creek Valley produced & bottled by Miro Cellars (Geyserville, California). This wine is 100% petite sirah from Coyote Ridge Vineyard situated almost in the middle of Dry Creek Valley. Following fermentation, the wine was aged for 11 months in European oak barrels (25% new). It comes in at 14.7% ABV. The wine showed a dark ruby almost opaque color. Blackberry, raspberry preserves, dark chocolate, smoke, vanilla, and oak all arrived on a nose driven by dark berry fruit. Blackberry, raspberry preserves, dark chocolate, cherry, cassis, and oak followed on a palate that demonstrated even more complexity that then nose had hinted at. The wine was full-bodied and exhibited great length along with velvety tannins. This wine would pair quite well with smoked St. Louis style ribs. Stay tuned for more petite sirah from the great state of California!

Click here for complete article

August 16, 2020

“Wine, etc.: Watch out for Gérard Bertrand’s biodynamic wines. They’re delicious. ”
South Florida Reporter
TOM MARQUARDT AND PATRICK DARR
Petite sirah Petite sirah is often an underrated and undiscovered wine, yet we find it scores a hit whenever poured to friends. It is one of the darkest wines and thus one of the most intensive with flavors ranging from black berries to plums. Here are few good examples: *Stags' Leap Napa Valley Petite Sirah 2017 ($47). *Legacy Petite Sirah 2017 ($100). *Merisi Wines Diener Vineyard Lake County Petite Sirah 2017 ($60).

Click here for complete article

August 12, 2020

“WINE OF THE WEEK: TRES SABORES 2016 PETITE SIRAH NAPA VALLEY”
Please The Palate
Allison Levine
I often think of Petite Sirah as a very deep color wine that is very full-bodied, almost jammy, with intense tannins. But the Tres Sabores 2016 Petite Sirah has a beautiful aromatic freshness with notes of dark blackberry and Marionberry as well as chocolate and cedar. The wine is lively with good acidity and smoother, more moderate tannins. This wine can pair with a variety of proteins, including pork or a lightly grilled steak. There are only 100 cases of the Tres Sabores 2016 Petite Sirah, Napa Valley available and sells for $45. If you are not familiar with Petite Sirah, the Tres Sabores is a great example to introduce you to the grape.

Click here for complete article

August 03, 2020

“What's in a name? Check your wine labels carefully...”
Cape Gazette
John McDonald August 1, 2020
I had the opportunity to sample the new-release Stags' Leap Winery selections. Be very careful with these labels. Make sure it is spelled Stags' Leap, famous for its Petite Sirah, not Stag's Leap - a neighbor. (Emphasis is on the apostrophe. AFTER the "s" in Stags' = Petite Sirah)

Click here for complete article

August 01, 2020

“Varietal Focus: Petite Sirah”
Wine Business Monthly
Lance Cuttler
Featured Petite Sirah producers: Ridge, Foppiano, Aratas, Robert Biale. Must download the issue PDf to read in entirety.

Click here for complete article

July 30, 2020

“2018 Theopolis Vineyards Estate Grown Rosé of Petite Sirah”
Nittany Epicurious
Michael Chelis
Today, we'll enjoy another example of petite sirah made in a completely different style: 2018 Estate Grown Rosé of Petite Sirah produced & bottled by Theopolis Vineyards (San Francisco, California). Theopolis Vineyards is a small lot vineyard and hand-crafted winery located in the Yorkville Highlands of the Anderson Valley. The winery is owned and founded by Theodora A. Lee, a Texan trial lawyer who practices in San Francisco. Ms. Lee's winery has won numerous awards for its petite sirah, as well as pinot noir and its white blend - Symphony. This wine is 100% estate grown petite sirah. Using the Saignée method, the wine was fermented and aged for six months in neutral French oak barrels. It comes in at 13.3% ABV.

Click here for complete article

July 27, 2020

“Black-Owned Wine Brands To Try Out, According To Wine Experts”
HUFFPOST
Ambar Pardilla
Pitts, Salcito and Cohen recommended Theopolis Vineyards from founder Theodora Lee, who spoke to HuffPost in early June about being Black in the wine industry. "What she's accomplished as a trial lawyer and winemaker is incredible "” no wonder she's affectionately dubbed 'Queen of the Vineyards,'" Salcito said. Theopolis Vineyards has an affordable assortment of pinot noirs and a "Petite Sirah" wine that Cohen called a "standout."

Click here for complete article

July 24, 2020

“Bonne Fete Nationale, or as we like to say - Happy Bastille Day”
ENOFLYZ
Enoflyz - Instagram
Stag's Leaps Winery's GM and Senior Winemaker, Christophe Paubert, who grew up just outside of Sauternes in Bordeaux, is such a winemaker. He makes wine the way he learned in France, to showcase the fruit and not the winemaker’s hand. It shows in these two stunning #samples of Petite Sirah from Stag's Leap Winery. . 2017 Napa Valley Petite Sirah is a blend of 85% Petite Sirah 6% Syrah, 6% Grenache, 3% Mixed Rhones sourced from northern and southern vineyards in Napa, as well as their estate vineyard. This debonair wine show a fresh, aromatic, and harmonious blackberry, blueberry confit, black cherry, licorice, black pepper and baking spice flavors character accented with hint of graphite minerality. 14.1% abv|SRP -

Click here for complete article

July 22, 2020

“Stags' Leap Winery”
Facebook #Petite Sirah
Fred Swan
Petite Sirah, like Zinfandel, is one of the few wine grape varieties that has achieved much more notoriety in an adopted land than its birthplace. Petite Sirah originated in southwest France, where it’s known as Durif. Somehow, it made its way to California in the latter half of the 19th century. Petite Sirah quickly became a prominent fixture there, in “mixed black” vineyards and in focused, varietal plantings. The moderate-to-warm climates of California’s vineyards, and our ample sun, suit the grape well. For a variety of reasons, Durif has fared much less well in its homeland. There are many individual California vineyards which have more planted than the entire country of France. Like so many red varieties whose names are neither Cabernet Sauvignon nor Pinot Noir, Petite Sirah has never been an “It” grape as a varietal. It has done yeoman’s work in red blends and even provided color, structure, and a bit of this or that in Cabernet Sauvignon varietals. (In the U.S., up to 25% of a varietal wine may come from grapes other than that on the label.) Varietal Petite Sirah merits more love than it gets. It is, surprisingly to some people, an excellent food wine. And even on its own, Petite Sirah is engaging and satisfying. It has great color and rich flavors of dark fruit, spice, earth, and more. It is known for its tannins, but these days those are fairly easily massaged into attractive texture. Acidity is just fine, thank you. Well-made Petite Sirah is among the best aging varieties too. Today’s wine is 2017 Stags’ Leap Winery Petite Sirah Napa Valley. It’s opaque purple in the glass with disciplined aromas of blackberry jam, smoke, earth, savor spice, and violets. The palate is bolder, more concentrated. Black fruit leather, blackberry jam, charcoal, and caramel play off each other. Body is medium-plus and the tannins are plentiful but well mannered. They are fine-grained and offer slight grip initially, softening further and filling out the palate with air. It’s totally enjoyable now, especially with food. It will be more complex and nuanced after 2-5 years in the cellar. Alcohol is just 14.1% and the wine is well-priced at $47. 91 points Stags' Leap Winery

Click here for complete article

July 22, 2020

“Berryessa Gap Petite Sirah "“ An Eye Opener”
TAG: WINE STUDIO TINA MOREY
Tina Morey & Susannah Gold
Today's post is the first in a series about Petite Sirah. Let me start by saying I had tried this variety for the first time about 10 years ago, swiftly decided I didn' like it and forgot about it for a decade. ~~~ Nicole Salengo the winemaker at Berryessa was the person representing the winery at the zoom tasting. She has been in California for more than a decade and moved there from New England. After a degree from the UC Davis department of Viticulture and Enology and an undergraduate study of Geology, she is very well versed in what grape vines need. I liked her attitude on the zoom chat. Very down to Earth and honest. Yolo County where the winery is located is a place that she has found herself feeling at home. She admitted on the call that at the start, she too was hesitant about Petite Sirah. The site of Berryessa Gap Vineyards is east of Lake Berryessa. ~~~ The wine was a keeper, elegant and rich with red and black berry fruit and spices. Long and persistent, I also got a vein of minerality. I was extremely surprised by how light and fresh it was.

Click here for complete article

July 21, 2020

“2017 Merisi Wines Diener Vineyard Petite Sirah”
Nittany Epicurean
Michael Chelis
Last Thursday, my ongoing series of discovery of some of the great wines of California began an exploration of the roots of petite sirah made from various winemaking regions of the state. We started this endeavor by exploring the 2017 Petite Sirah produced & bottled by Vincent Arroyo Family Winery. Today, we continue this exploration with this offering from Merisi Wines: This wine is 100% petite sirah from Diener Vineyard in Lake County. The wine was naturally fermented and aged in barrel (50% new oak) for 21 months prior to bottling. It comes in at 15.3% ABV. The wine showed a dark ruby almost opaque color. Blackberry, cherry, white pepper, raspberry, currant and oak could all be found on the nose. Blackberry, mocha, white pepper, raspberry preserves, currant and oak followed on the deep and complex palate. This bold wine was full-bodied and exhibited excellent length along with moderate tannins. This wine would pair very well with a roast leg of lamb or hearty beef stew.

Click here for complete article

July 16, 2020

“2017 Vincent Arroyo Family Winery Petite Sirah”
Nittany Epicurean
Michael Chelis
My ongoing series of discovery of some of the great wines of California is about to embark upon an exploration of the roots of petite sirah made from various winemaking regions of the state. The first example we'll enjoy this is bold wine: 2017 Petite Sirah produced & bottled by Vincent Arroyo Family Winery (Calistoga, California). The wine showed a dark ruby almost opaque color. Black cherry, raspberry preserves, blackberry, vanilla, plum and oak all arrived on the bold and complex nose. Black cherry, raspberry preserves, blackberry, vanilla, plum, loganberry and oak followed on the palate where the dark berry fruit won the day. The wine was full-bodied and exhibited good length along with velvety tannins. This wine would be an ideal pair for braised beef short ribs.

Click here for complete article

July 10, 2020

“2017 Vincent Arroyo Petite Sirah "Napa Valley"”
Ken's Wine Guide
Ken Hoggins
This dark purple colored Petite Sirah opens with a fragrant blueberry and boysenberry bouquet with hints of sweet cherry wood. On the palate, this wine is medium bodied, balanced and fresh for a Petite Sirah. The flavor profile is a cranberry and crushed stone blend with notes of oak. I also detected hints of plum and thyme. The finish is dry and its moderate tannins drift away nicely. This Petite Sirah would pair well with barbecue beef brisket. Enjoy - Ken

Click here for complete article

July 07, 2020

“2016 Scheid Vineyards Petite Sirah "Estate Grown"”
Ken's Wine Guide
Ken Hoggins, with DAve and Julie
This opaque dark reddish-purple colored Petite Syrah from Scheid is a crowd pleaser. On the nose, it is a fruity dark fruit blend of blackberries and black currants with faint hints of smoky oak. This is medium bodied and has mouth tingling acidity along with flavors of black plum and cassis. We also detected hints ripe mission fig, vanilla and clove. The tannins are gentle and refined and it has a nice prolonged smoky oak finish. Break this crowd-pleasing Petite Syrah out at your summer barbecue and pair with a juicy smoked pulled pork sandwich. - Dave & Julie

Click here for complete article

July 05, 2020

“2017 Robert Biale Petite Sirah "Royal Punishers"”
Ken's Wine Guide
Ken Hoggins
This inky purple colored Petite Sirah from Biale opens with a blueberry bouquet with hints of red plum and smoke. On the palate, this wine is medium bodied, smooth and balanced. The flavor profile is a mild blueberry and fine gravel mineral blend with notes of oak and currant. The finish is dry and its well-managed tannins and flavors drift away nicely. This Petite Sirah would pair well with a New York strip steak. Enjoy "“ Ken

Click here for complete article

July 03, 2020

“2018 Trentadue Petite Sirah "La Storia"”
Ken's Wine Guide
Ken Hoggins
This very dark ruby colored Petite Sirah from Trentadue opens with a mild black cherry and chocolate bouquet. On the palate, this wine is medium plus bodied, balanced and smooth. The flavor profile is a black cherry and stewed plum blend with nicely integrated crusted stone minerality. I also detected hints of clove. The finish is dry and its moderate tannins show nice length and linger. This Petite Sirah would pair nicely with Theresa's meatloaf. Enjoy - Ken

Click here for complete article

June 26, 2020

“2017 Stanton Petite Sirah "St. Helena"”
Ken's Wine Guide
Ken Hoggins
This inky purple colored Petite Sirah from Stanton performed very well in our blind tasting. It opens with a mild blueberry bouquet with notes of cedar, hazelnut, and cherry-cola. On the palate, this wine is full bodied, balanced, smooth and savory. The flavor profile is a cola and vanilla oak blend with hints of blueberry and black cherry. We also detected hints of milk chocolate and cassis. The finish is dry and its tingly tannins are nicely integrated. The Panel suggested pairing this Petite Sirah with ribeye or pot roast. Enjoy - KWGTP

Click here for complete article

June 25, 2020

“2017 Trentadue Petite Sirah "Heart's Desire"”
Ken's Wine Guide
Ken Hoggins
This very dark red colored Petite Sirah from Trentadue opens with a very attractive blueberry bouquet with hints off blackberry, gingerbread and oak. On the palate, this wine is full bodied, balanced, round and lush. The flavor profile is a boysenberry and oak blend with notes of black licorice. We also detected hints stewed black plum and black tea. The finish is dry and its solid tannins build-up and stick around for quite a while. The Panel suggested pairing this Petite Sirah with short ribs. Enjoy. KWGTP

Click here for complete article

June 24, 2020

“2017 Stags Leap Winery Petite Sirah "Napa Valley"”
Ken's Wine Guide
Ken Hoggins
This midnight purple colored Petite Sirah from Stag's Leap is a crowd pleaser and was the winner of our most recent blind tasting. It opens with a Dr. Pepper and moist pipe tobacco bouquet. We also detected hints of vanilla oak. On the palate, this wine is medium bodied, balanced, smooth and velvety. The flavor profile is a mild mineral and gentle oak blend with notes of anise. We also detected hints of black tea, blueberry and dark chocolate. The finish is dry and its nicely integrated dusty tannins are drawn out and extended. The Panel suggested pairing this popular Petite Sirah with Roy's rib roast. Enjoy "“ KWGTP

Click here for complete article

June 23, 2020

“2017 Theopolis Petite Sirah "Yorkville Highlands"”
Ken's Wine Guide
Ken Hoggins
This dark ruby colored opens with a pleasant root beer bouquet with hints of plum, raspberry and tomato leaf. On the palate, this wine is medium bodied and slightly acidic. The flavor profile is a mild cherry, rhubarb and cedar blend with notes stewed red plum and five spice. We also detected hints of chocolate and cashews. The finish is dry and its flavors and mild tannins drift away nicely. The Panel suggested pairing with Petite Sirah with pappardelle pasta smothered with a Bolognese sauce. Enjoy "“ KWGTP

Click here for complete article

June 23, 2020

“Petite Sirah: The Winemaker's Wine Forges a New Path, Part 2”
The Vintner Project
Kathleen Willcox
winemakers in the 21st century are crushing on Petite Sirah in a whole new way. The acreage of Petite Sirah in California has risen steadily in the past two decades, and is currently at more than 12,000 acres, and growing. As more adventurous drinkers are seeking out lesser-known varieties and wines, Petite Sirah is finding a new market niche. Recently, I sampled several Petite Sirahs across a variety of AVAs in California, and I was thrilled by the diversity of flavor. I reached out to their makers to find out how and why they first fell for this big bold grape, and why, in addition to being just generally delicious, it may offer hope for winemakers on the lookout for grapes that thrive in challenging weather. Explore details with our members Berryessa Gap, Trentadue Winery. Davis Estates, and Stanton Vineyards

Click here for complete article

June 22, 2020

“2017 Miro Petite Sirah "Reserve - Coyote Ridge Vineyard"”
Ken's Wine Guide
Ken Hoggins
This very dark ruby colored Petite Sirah from Miro opens with a boysenberry and musty oak bouquet. On the palate, this wine is medium plus bodied, balanced, smooth and round. The flavor profile is a plum and mild graphite blend with notes of oak. I also detected hints of cinnamon and mulberry. The finish is dry and its flavors and well-managed moderate tannins drift away nicely. This Petite Sirah would pair nicely with a pork tenderloin. Enjoy - Ken

Click here for complete article

June 19, 2020

“Robert Biale Vineyards is a standard-bearer in California for...Petite Sirah”
Instagram
Kathleen Willcox
The Napa Valley winery was founded by school friends Bob Biale and Dave Pramuk, and from the get-go, they've been laser-focused on teasing small amounts of intense flavor from historic old vines. (Some of there grannies date back to the 1880's). I recently received these two #samples and was thrilled to be able to compare them and notice their parallels and divergences. Isn' crazy how much of a difference vineyards make? The 2017 Royal Punishers: This is no wilting lily here. Aggressive, but elegant, you're going to want to get out of her way and give her some air. After decanting for a minimum of an hour, she'll unwind and open her arms. Blueberries, currants, violets. Deep black ripeness. Elegant, unflinching. The 2017 Palisades Vineyard: Muscular, mountain wine that tastes earthier than the Royal. Plenty of black and red fruit, interspersed with mocha, espresso, rugged rocks. Both are fantastic, but I think the Palisades will hit its peak in 5-10 years, whereas the Royal is drinking beautifully right now, despite her young age.

Click here for complete article

June 16, 2020

“I love wines that taste like the earth and the forest”
Instagram
Kathleen Willcox
I love wines that taste like the earth and the forest, but those tasting notes often scare people. No one...wants a mouthful of dirt or bark, not even the weirder wine wonks I hang with. Also, despite the earned confidence many wine writers display when issuing descriptive proclamations, what you taste is subjective and personal. Your assessment of a wine that"”on the subconscious level"”cues an unrelated warm or grim memory will be colored invariably by that. I mean, I think classically made dry Mosel Riesling tastes like lightning, but there's no way to really explain that or pack up my assessment with anything approaching systematic proof. That said, this 2017 Petite Sirah from Berryessa Gap (a #sample) tastes like a summer forest in full bloom. Cedar, blackberries, sun-warmed red cherries, violets. There's tannins yes, as there always are with Petite Sirah, but it's really more of a gentle embrace than an obsessive grip. Also wafts of mint and dark chocolate. This PS is a field blend from Berryessa's Coble Ranch Vineyard in Yolo County, with Peloursin and Zinfandel in there, co-harvested and co-fermented.

Click here for complete article

June 15, 2020

“Petite Sirah: The Winemaker's Wine Forges a New Path”
The Vintner Project
Kathleen Willcox
Perhaps they're excellent salespeople, perhaps the launch of PS I Love You happened at an auspicious time, or perhaps it's a combination of those and other factors. Either way, the acreage of Petite Sirah in California has risen steadily, and is currently at 12,000+ acres, and growing. ~ Now, as more adventurous drinkers are seeking out lesser-known varieties and wines, Petite Sirah is coming into its own. Recently, I sampled several Petite Sirahs across a variety of AVAs in California, and I was thrilled by the diversity of flavor. I reached out to their makers to find out how and why they first fell for this big bold grape, and why, in addition to being just generally delicious, it may offer hope for winemakers on the lookout for grapes that thrive in challenging weather.

Click here for complete article

June 12, 2020

“Instagram - Vincent Arroyo Family Winery”
Instagram
Kathleen Willcox
The Vincent Arroyo Family Winery is in its second generation (Vince's daughter Adrian and her husband Matt run the show), but it's sticking to its O.G. ideals. They take what the land gives them, and they make the best of it, with tailor-made regimens"”from crush, to fermentation to barrel-aging"”that capitalize on the strengths and downplay the weaknesses of each vintage. Arroyo makes Chard, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Sangiovese, Zin and several blends, but Petite Sirah is their baby. This one is classic Petite: deeply colored, bold with blackberry notes, a full body, tobacco, earth, forest.

Click here for complete article

June 11, 2020

“Miro Cellars”
Instagram - Kathleen Willcox
Kathleen Willcox
Winemaker Miro Tcholakov was born and raised in northern Bulgaria, which has millennia of winemaking history, surrounded by wine culture from a young age. In 1990 after graduating from wine school, he was accepted to the prestigious exchange study program set up The Future Farmers of America, and landed in Napa. Thankfully, he decided to put down roots in Cali, eventually becoming a winemaker at Trentadue, and then launching his own winery, Miro Cellars. His wines are stunning expressions of Sonoma County terroir. The 2018 Petite Sirah hails from vineyards comprised of decomposed rocks and brick red Manzanita soils, perfect for low pH Petites. The wine is fantastically evocative of mountain blueberries, warmed in the sun, with medium body and soft tannins. Long, juicy, powerful. The 2017 has a hefty mouthfeel, with an explosion of blackberries, white pepper and violets, with maple overplaying. I drank these gems on the patio with grilled chicken, corn on the cob and way too much chocolate cake. Simple, beautiful.

Click here for complete article

June 07, 2020

“Theopolis Vineyards”
Instagram - Kathleen Willcox
Kathleen Willcox
Theopolis Vineyards is a favorite of mine. It's hard to know what to focus on. There's the terroir"”Yorkville Highlands in California's Anderson Valley"”the founder"”Theodora Lee, partner and trial lawyer, plus Queen of the Vineyards bad**s"”the label"”ancient Egyptian Queen"”the focus"”Petite Sirah, a blender-turned-contender"”competing for attention. They're equally compelling. 🍷 But in the end, even if you love a brand, it's the product itself that has to "wine" you over if you're going to return.

Click here for complete article

June 04, 2020

“Drinkers are supporting black-owned wine businesses right now. Will it last?”
San Francisco Chronicle
Esther Mobley
Tuesday was a record-breaking day for Theodora Lee, the owner and winemaker of Theopolis Vineyards. Fifty separate wine orders came in. "I have never received 50 orders in one day," says Lee, who produces just 800 cases of wine a year from the vineyard she owns in Mendocino County's Yorkville Highlands. Lee is scrambling to fill the orders now. In addition to running her winery, she works as an employment lawyer with the firm Littler Mendelson, which has been busier than ever dealing with coronavirus-related employment issues. She also happens to live in Oakland, where protesters have taken to the streets to condemn the killing of George Floyd in Minneapolis. It's been a week, she says, where she's reminded more than ever that "being black in America is a burden."

Click here for complete article

June 01, 2020

“Stanton Vineyards Petite Sirah”
Instagram - Kathleen Willcox
Kathleen Willcox
I will always perk up when I learn of a newer winemaker, and I get especially excited when I learn that it's a grower with deep roots in a region. The Stanton family has been growing grapes in the Napa Valley since 1947, and in 1999 they began making their own wine. 🍷🍷 Now, they make Cabernet Sauvignon from estate-grown grapes, and Petite Sirah from two vineyards they own in St. Helena. The St. Helena AVA, as many of you know, is the birthplace of the Napa Valley's commercial wine industry. There, some of the most lauded and beloved grapes flourish in sedimentary, gravel-clay, lower-fertility soils. Grapes that grow here are transformed into deeply expressive, complex wines. 🍷🍷 This wine pours deep black-purple. A poem to the sun and earth, with a thunderstorm and falling rocks in the background: blackberries, black pepper, mocha, chewy, dark. Drink this with a book of flowery prose in one hand, in a steak in the other.

Click here for complete article

May 31, 2020

“Merisi Wines Petite Sirah”
Instagram - Kathleen Willcox
Kathleen Willcox
Merisi is named after the beloved 16th century Italian painter Michelangelo "Caravaggio" Merisi, who created a legacy by fearlessly challenging the status quo. Caravaggio rejected the opulent artistic style that dominated the art world when he was up-and-coming, and opted instead for mirroring life itself through an impassioned form of realism. Life, veracity, with a skein of magic. 🌟💙 Like Caravaggio, @merisiwines "”through sustainable farming in the vineyard and minimal intervention in the winery"”aims to reflect the beauty of each season and vineyard. 💙🌟 The wine here is made from grapes grown on Diener Ranch in Lake County. Robust boysenberries, deep mocha, pepper, lead pencil. An herbaciousness underpinning the fruit, with savory notes of bacon and sage.💙🌟💙🌟

Click here for complete article

May 22, 2020

“12 California Red Wines Perfect for Grilling”
Wine Enthusiast Magazine
This list of California red blends includes all the big hitters: Cabernet Sauvignon, Pinot Noir, Zinfandel, Syrah, Petite Sirah and Merlot. Each of these bottles is perfect for a long, lazy dinner under the stars and there's something for everyone at your table.

Click here for complete article

May 18, 2020

“An Armchair Traveler's Guide to Napa Valley Wine Country”
Wine Enthusiast Magazine
Virginie Book
STAGS' LEAP WINERY: #StayHome with Stags' Leap Winery Virtual Wine Tastings Known for Petite Sirah as much as for Cabernet Sauvignon, the historic winery at the foot of the Palisades holds virtual tastings Thursdays at 3 pm Pacific. Discussions not only center on the winery, but the AVA as well, with different wines featured every week. The tastings are offered through Dec. 31.

Click here for complete article

May 15, 2020

“Seeing red: wines that make their mark in more ways than one”
The Sydney Morning Herald
So which wines should you avoid unless drinking solo? In addition to the above, I'd add these French wines: Madiran (which is mostly tannat), Cahors (malbec), American petite sirah (another name for durif). But don' knock anthocyanins: they're powerful antioxidants and that means they're good for you!

Click here for complete article

May 10, 2020

“Petite Sirah in France? A Flip of the Coin at Clos Hirissou”
Juicy Tales
Jo Diaz
The conversation began: Jo: Hello Nicolas, thank you for your E-Mail. Yes, Petite Sirah is very unusual for France. I would love to speak with you about your vines. I have been wondering what it is like to grow Petite Sirah in France. I believe this is very historic.

Click here for complete article

May 01, 2020

“The California Winemakers Turning a Blending Grape into a Standalone Success”
Wine Enthusiast Magazine
Jim Gordon
California winemakers have long respected the grape as a blending partner with Zinfandel"”where it provides a framework of firm, dense tannins to support the Zin's rich fruit notes as well as other red varieties. While not at all a petite wine, Petite Sirah isn' always a tannic monster, either. Of five Petite Sirah producers profiled, Theodora Lee of Theopolis Vineyards, and Adam Mettler of Metler Family Vineyards (and winemaker for Michael David Winery are featured.

Click here for complete article

May 01, 2020

“Michael David 2017 Petite Petit Petite Sirah (Lodi)”
Wine Enthusiast Magazine
JIM GORDON
Dense and concentrated, even chewy, this full-bodied wine is a show-off, from the deep, dark color to the dark chocolate and blackberry jam flavors and even the rich, almost thick texture. Its firm tannins are off-set by superripe flavors that linger on the finish.

Click here for complete article

May 01, 2020

“Find a Wine”
Wine Enthusiast Magazine
JIM GORDON
For O'Neil Beverage: Strong aromas of wood smoke and charcoal coat ripe blackberry flavors in this full-bodied wine. Very firm tannins tighten up the mouthfeel.

Click here for complete article

May 01, 2020

“Petite Sirah's Grand Arrival”
Wine Enthusiast
Jim Gordon
Petite Sirah is the black sheep of California wines that never broke out into mass popularity on its own. Simultaneously, it's well loved by winemakers and beef eaters for its awesomely dark color, its plump blueberry and dark chocolate flavors, and it notoriously thick texture... While not all a Petite wine, Petite isn't always a tannic monster, either... Five winemakers featured have proven this point in recent vintages with rich but comfortably polished wines

April 29, 2020

“Sorting out Syrah, Shiraz and Petite Sirah”
Kit Sapsun
Mary Earl
The Bogle family has been farming around Clarksburg for six generations. Their involvement in the wine goes back 50-ish years. The first red grape founder Warren Bogle and his son Chris planted in 1968 was Petite Sirah. For 10 years, the family grew grapes for other wineries until releasing its own label in 1978. In 2002, Foppiano Vineyards helped found P.S. I Love You, a trade organization dedicated to the Petite Sirah grape. An Italian family that had been growing grapes for over 120 years, it has over 40 acres planted Petite Sirah.

Click here for complete article

April 22, 2020

“Turning Tables: A chat with sommelier Arden Allen”
The Virginian Pilot
JUDY COWLING
What got you into wine? My sister, Christy, was a waiter at Le Chambord in Virginia Beach... I was only 19 and very green when I started at Le Chambord....Once I was old enough to drink, Alvin took me under his wing and started to teach me. My first favorite wine was Stags' Leap Petite Sirah, and that's a huge wine to love as a novice drinker.

Click here for complete article

April 07, 2020

“Wine Line readers respond”
Modesto Bee
Russ Winton
WHAT'S ON OUR TABLE - The Splurge: The 2017 Harney Lane Winery Home Ranch Petite Sirah was Best of Class/Double Gold in the SF Chronicle.

Click here for complete article

March 28, 2020

“2016 Mettler Family Petite Sirah "Estate Grown"”
Ken's Wine Guide
Ken Hoggins
This midnight black colored Petite Sirah from Mettler opens with an inviting black raspberry bouquet with hints of black cherry and violets. On the palate, this wine is medium plus bodied with medium plus acidity. It is also balanced and juicy. The flavor profile is a mild plum with notes of black raspberry, espresso and anise. The finish is dry and its mild tannins are a bit extended. The Panel suggested pairing this Petite Sirah with a juicy burger or steak frites. Enjoy - KWGTP

Click here for complete article

March 28, 2020

“2016 Mettler Family Petite Sirah "Estate Grown"”
Ken's Wine Guide
Ken Hoggins
This midnight black colored Petite Sirah from Mettler opens with an inviting black raspberry bouquet with hints of black cherry and violets. On the palate, this wine is medium plus bodied with medium plus acidity. It is also balanced and juicy. The flavor profile is a mild plum with notes of black raspberry, espresso and anise. The finish is dry and its mild tannins are a bit extended. The Panel suggested pairing this Petite Sirah with a juicy burger or steak frites. Enjoy - KWGTP

Click here for complete article

March 28, 2020

“2016 Stags Leap Winery Petite Sirah "Napa Valley"”
Ken's Wine Guide
Ken Hoggins
This very dark ruby colored Petite Sirah from Stags' Leap opens with a blueberry and cigar box bouquet with hints of caramel. On the palate, this wine is medium bodied, balanced and smooth. The flavor profile is a mineral influenced mild blackberry with notes of plum. We also detected some hints of clove mixed in as well. The finish is dry and its dusty tannins are a bit sticky. The Panel suggested pairing this Petite Sirah with grilled steak tips. Enjoy - KWGTP

Click here for complete article

March 25, 2020

“Central Valley winery wins national award; wine website to check out while stuck at home - Bogle Vineyards”
Merced Sun-Star
Russ Winton
Wine Enthusiast magazine honored Bogle Vineyards with its Wine Star Award for American Winery of the Year. I am not surprised. I've been a fan, or better yet a cheerleader, for Bogle for nearly 40 years. The reason is simple, their quality to price ratio. In other words they produce excellent wine using sustainably certified grapes grown from the 1,900 acres they farm in the Clarksburg AVA and sell if for an unbelievably low price. Bogle has made the Wine Enthusiast's Best Buy selection many times and for good reason, quality and value.

Click here for complete article

February 21, 2020

“Wines to drink with favorite holiday movies”
US99
Staff
"Love Actually" - Petite Sirah. As you get wrapped up in the nine holiday stories in this movie, enjoy a glass of this red varietal with flavor notes of black pepper, sugarplum and dark chocolate.

Click here for complete article

January 27, 2020

“Quixote Winery ~ Renowned consultant oversees Cabernet and Petite Sirah at Stags Leap winery with seriously playful architecture.”
California Wine & Travel
Danny Mangin
Quixote specializes in estate-grown Stags Leap District Cabernet Sauvignon and Petite Sirah, crafted since 2016 in the silky, elegant style of winemaker Philippe Melka. The renowned consultant, famously discerning about his roster of clients, was attracted by Quixote's singular 50-acre site, bordered by Shafer Vineyards, whose vines to the north supply grapes for its coveted Hillside Select Cabernet, and historic Stags' Leap Winery to the south. Melka arrived shortly after new owners purchased Quixote from Carl Doumani, its founder. Doumani, who revived Stags' Leap Winery in the 1970s, retained a small parcel to start Quixote when he sold Stags' Leap to Beringer in 1997. ~~~ For much of Doumani's tenure, Aaron Pott, himself a consultant of note, made Quixote's wines. Both Pott and Melka are known for attention to viticultural detail, so these vines, most planted in 2002 and farmed organically, have been well tended their entire lives.

Click here for complete article

January 29, 2019

“Three 'flights' to expand your wine knowledge”
Arkansas Democrat Gazette
Lorri Hambuchen
Tannins + THE SPLURGE 2017 Earthquake Petite Sirah, California (about $29 retail)... Red wines are known for their tannins and tannins are sometimes the reason consumers don't enjoy red wine. But not all red wines are high in tannins. This is an excellent wine flight to better understand your personal preferences on the taste and intensity many red wines show depending on the tannin levels. Tannins are responsible for the mouth-drying and sometimes bitter taste of some red wines. Be sure you taste the wines from light-bodied (lower tannins) to full-bodied (higher tannins) "” a good line would be pinot noir, grenache, sangiovese or tempranillo, cabernet sauvignon, and tannat or petite sirah.

Click here for complete article

January 21, 2019

“Twisted Oak, the only winery in the Rubber Chicken National Forest”
The Press
Mike Dunne
Wine enthusiasts who like to gaze on vineyards that yield the wines they are tasting are pretty much out of luck in Calaveras County. Most tasting rooms in the county occupy small and historic quarters in the old gold camp of Murphys, with grapes grown and wines made elsewhere. Wood or stone walls and maybe a glimpse of a garden constitute the views. Five miles southwest of Murphys, however, visitors can taste in a working winery adjacent to a vineyard. This is the hilltop home of Twisted Oak Winery, which juts up with the bold and sturdy lines of a headframe and stamp mill at an abandoned Mother Lode gold mine, the winery's architectural inspiration.

Click here for complete article

January 01, 1970

“Trentadue Winery”
Instagram - Kathleen Willcox
Kathleen Willcox
2017 was a year of mercurial weather for wineries in the Sonoma Valley. There was record rain in the winter, a mild spring, hot summer and cool fall that ended with a wet bang when storms hampered harvest. The crop size ended up being smaller than average, with small berries, but the quality was sky high. 🍷🍷🍷 You can taste the drama in the 2017 Trentadue Petite Sirah, with inky purple colors and focused aromas and flavors of blueberries, blackberries, smoked bacon and chocolate. Intense, lush, fresh. 🍷🍷🍷🍷 2018, meanwhile, was more moderate. The grapes had a bit of extra hang time, with very little disease pressure. This 2018 La Storia Petite Sirah has many of the same black and blue notes, but is fuller, with additional notes of earth, vanilla and even brown sugar. 🍷🍷🍷🍷 Both are beautiful, but the 2017 edged it out for me "¦ I'd be curious to try both again in a few years to see how they evolve. 🍷🍷🍷🍷

Click here for complete article

January 01, 1970

“Real Systemic Change Requires That We Have A Seat At The Table”
HUFFPOST
Nancy Koziol
Theodora Lee, owner of Theopolis Vineyards, on how "the wine industry hasn' fully embraced Black professionals" and what can be done better....As a late baby boomer who was raised by older parents, I am fairly conservative in my thinking. I support those who choose to protest, but I truly believe that real systemic change requires that we have a seat at the table.

Click here for complete article